View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Apr 26, 2017 3:21 am



Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 Playing on a LAN 
Author Message
Lieutenant J.G.

Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 437
Location: In your girlfriend's bed
Unread post Playing on a LAN
I know when playing on a local machine, the telnet address is usually 127.0.0.1.

How do I set up TWGS so that it is played over a direct local area network? I want to use an older computer as a dedicated TWGS machine for practice and thus free up my main machine for other things. I still want to use my main machine to telnet the TWGS machine directly over the LAN.

Thanks in advance.


Mon Jun 07, 2010 2:44 pm
Profile
Commander

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1702
Location: Guam USA
Unread post Re: Playing on a LAN
You could use the local (you computers) computers through the router / netcards

play on the second machine : telnet://192.168.1.104:2002

if it had netcard IP set to 192.168.1.104 and was running the server on port 2002

you would also have to set your router to redirect to that machine to host from it
so others could get on it , if you chose to host for other outside your lan.


hope this helps

_________________
TWGS V2 Vids World on Guam Port 2002
Telnet://202.151.82.243:2002
Team Speak3 Servers for TradeWars @
Zoom's Team Speak Server
ts3server://vs26.tserverhq.com:7214 This is where I'm at.
Micro's Team Speak Server
ts3server://ts.microblaster.net
Archys Portal Teamspeak Server
ts3server://60.242.57.40

Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Ka Pla
Image

Image
Image


Mon Jun 07, 2010 3:03 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Lieutenant J.G.

Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 437
Location: In your girlfriend's bed
Unread post Re: Playing on a LAN
What if I don't want the hosting machine to be connected to the internet?

But I still want to access it on my local network from a different computer?

I hope I make sense.


Thu Mar 19, 2015 12:51 pm
Profile
Civilian

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:06 pm
Posts: 0
Unread post Re: Playing on a LAN
you could try removing the default gateway on the machine hosting the TWGS server, or blocking access at the router level.

... is this really a 5 year old thread? that's pretty epic :)


Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:09 pm
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1799
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Playing on a LAN
Just run ipconfig from a command prompt. That will give you the address the other computers need to connect to.

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Thu Mar 19, 2015 3:16 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Lieutenant J.G.

Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 437
Location: In your girlfriend's bed
Unread post Re: Playing on a LAN
methods wrote:
you could try removing the default gateway on the machine hosting the TWGS server, or blocking access at the router level.

... is this really a 5 year old thread? that's pretty epic :)


I'll take a look at that. And yes, I've been away for much of these last 5 years, popping in to lurk about once in a blue moon.

I've been wanting to play on my local machine - just myself against some aggressive aliens for shits and giggles. I have two older machines sitting around doing nothing, so I figure I could hook one up to my router, but use it to only access the TWGS on the machine. I don't want the machine connected to the internet as it is old and not secure. I only want it just connected to the LAN.

I figure I could still use my laptop to connect to the hosting machine if my laptop is connected to the same home network that the TWGS is on - meaning if I take my laptop elsewhere to a different network, I cannot access the server because I'm not on the network.

Thanks, Methods. I'll take a look at my router settings. I use a Belkin router if that helps.

If nothing else, I'll plug the cable of the hosting machine in the router to play, then when I'm done playing, I'll unplug the hosting machine from the router, but leave the hosting machine running so the aliens can cycle throughout the universe, extern can run and other crap in the TWGS.


Sat Mar 21, 2015 7:34 am
Profile
Commander

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 2:00 am
Posts: 1304
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Playing on a LAN
If you remove the default gateway, you will have no connectivity.
So you don't want to do that.
Best to make some changes on your firewall to prevent that PC from accessing the internet.

_________________
Infecting others with a Polymorphic Virus since 1975.

Curing ignorance and terminal stupidity since 1999.

Questioning the intellectual abilities of three digit annual salary earners since 2015.


Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:44 pm
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1799
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Playing on a LAN
Oso wrote:
If you remove the default gateway, you will have no connectivity.

You will only loose connectivity to the internet. You will still be able to access other computers on the local sub-net.

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:14 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
1st Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:56 am
Posts: 42
Unread post Re: Playing on a LAN
This is something I'm probably going to try soon myself, so I'm interested to see how it goes.

As I understand it the Default Gateway is the local IP address that a computer will go to when attempting to access an external network, so removing that (or pointing it to oblivion) should do the trick.

Alternatively, you can accomplish everything you need from the LAN router if the router is advanced enough (most are these days) or the computers firewall settings. It's really a question of where you want to block the traffic.

*Laughs* I imagine the easiest might just be setting up parental controls on the LAN router to block Internet access for that machine.

-Matt


Thu Mar 26, 2015 8:16 am
Profile
Lieutenant J.G.

Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 437
Location: In your girlfriend's bed
Unread post Re: Playing on a LAN
Simulatio wrote:

*Laughs* I imagine the easiest might just be setting up parental controls on the LAN router to block Internet access for that machine.

-Matt


You know, this might JUST work.

I do have parental settings on my Belkin router. I'll give this a shot when I finally install the TWGS on the old machine. I just picked up a flash drive so I can transfer the TWGS to it.


Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:39 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.