View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:43 am



Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
 ipv6? 
Author Message
Sergeant Major
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 12:39 am
Posts: 54
Unread post Re: ipv6?
:D Once they move a little east of KC proper, I'm in...120 for Gigabit + HD TV + the remote, plus setup is waived...yes, my pants are wet from the drool...

_________________
Happiness is a mature buck lined up in the crosshairs!


Tue Aug 14, 2012 10:47 pm
Profile
Veteran Op

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 4:04 pm
Posts: 5025
Unread post Re: ipv6?
I know it's been a while since this topic was brought up, but just for everyones information, most router manufactures will stop supporting IPv4 by the end of 2012. Also another note, TWGS will not work with a router that only supports IPv6.


Sat Sep 01, 2012 2:52 am
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 3658
Location: USA
Unread post Re: ipv6?
Here's a gizmo to test your IPv6 connectivity.

http://test-ipv6.com/

_________________
Image
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
Big Game 2016 Champs: Draft team


Classic Style Games Here:
telnet://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2002

flash client: http://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2004/PlayTW.html
Web page from 1990's: http://tradewars.fament.com/Cruncher/tradewar.htm
Blog with current server info: http://cruncherstw.blogspot.com
E-mail: Cruncherstw@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/CrunchersTW


Sat Sep 01, 2012 9:11 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Veteran Op

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 4:04 pm
Posts: 5025
Unread post Re: ipv6?
Cruncher wrote:
Here's a gizmo to test your IPv6 connectivity.

http://test-ipv6.com/


I know my ISP's IPv6 status. That's not the issue. The issue is the new modems don't communicate with TWGS unless they have 6 to 4 pass through capability. TWGS doesn't recognize the new IPv6 structure, and as a result TWGS only reads your LAN IP.
I have found a work around for this problem however it does require some extra effort unless you have a static IP address.
By adding a secondary LAN IP to your server that is the same as your WAN IP will allow TWGS to accept connections and not end up with a binding error.

There are a few IP configuration programs out there that make this fairly easy, and will work fine until your router reboots or your WAN IP changes.

One program I found that works pretty well and is easy to use is:
http://windows-ip-configuration-manager ... ormer.com/

Of course you still need to have port forwarding enabled or have your machine placed outside the NAT firewall.


Sun Sep 02, 2012 5:17 am
Profile
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 2:00 am
Posts: 1800
Location: Outer Rims
Unread post Re: ipv6?
Big D wrote:

I know my ISP's IPv6 status. That's not the issue. The issue is the new modems don't communicate with TWGS unless they have 6 to 4 pass through capability. TWGS doesn't recognize the new IPv6 structure, and as a result TWGS only reads your LAN IP.
I have found a work around for this problem however it does require some extra effort unless you have a static IP address.
By adding a secondary LAN IP to your server that is the same as your WAN IP will allow TWGS to accept connections and not end up with a binding error.

There are a few IP configuration programs out there that make this fairly easy, and will work fine until your router reboots or your WAN IP changes.

One program I found that works pretty well and is easy to use is:
http://windows-ip-configuration-manager ... ormer.com/

Of course you still need to have port forwarding enabled or have your machine placed outside the NAT firewall.


Good point, and there is bound to be issues with some new sysops. I'll sticky this topic for the moment to keep it up top.

There's also LogMeIn Hamachi. We use it on one of our LANS here and have our TWGS using it.

_________________
-Thrawn

But risk has always been an inescapable part of warfare.

--

Knight to Queen's Bishop 3


Sun Sep 02, 2012 7:51 am
Profile
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 1:26 am
Posts: 165
Location: Martensville SK Canada
Unread post Re: ipv6?
Thrawn wrote:
Good point, and there is bound to be issues with some new sysops. I'll sticky this topic for the moment to keep it up top.


Gosh! :shock: it is a real honor to get a thread that i started to get a sticky promotion. thank you. :D

_________________
http://bbs.slother3x.info
http://www.slother3x.info My own website, hosted by myself.

"it only takes one to ruin it for all"
"The promises of our youth will always haunt us in the wisdom of our old age"


Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:09 pm
Profile YIM
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.