View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 5:34 pm



Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
 Random Planets? 
Author Message
Civilian

Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 10:00 am
Posts: 0
Unread post Random Planets?
Is it possible to create random planets when create a new game?
If so how?


Thu May 07, 2015 1:45 pm
Profile
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1200
Location: Canada
Unread post Re: Random Planets?
Not sure how exactly you want to create 'random' planets. but the answer is very likely a resounding 'No'. Though it would be a neat feature in a future release of TradeWars.

Anything modification beyond setting in T-Edit, requires manual ,or scripted editing of the game setting --post Bang.

_________________
----------------------------
-= There are 10 types of people in the world: Those that understand Binary and those who do not
-= If Oil is made from Dinosaurs, and Plastic is made from Oil... are plastic Dinosaurs made from real Dinosaurs?


Thu May 07, 2015 8:10 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 3660
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Random Planets?
Or maybe he could do something like Alien Resurrection. Where each race has unique ships and planets.

_________________
Image
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
Big Game 2016 Champs: Draft team


Classic Style Games Here:
telnet://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2002

flash client: http://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2004/PlayTW.html
Web page from 1990's: http://tradewars.fament.com/Cruncher/tradewar.htm
Blog with current server info: http://cruncherstw.blogspot.com
E-mail: Cruncherstw@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/CrunchersTW


Thu May 07, 2015 8:56 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1200
Location: Canada
Unread post Re: Random Planets?
Cruncher wrote:
Or maybe he could do something like Alien Resurrection. Where each race has unique ships and planets.


Most 'alien' game have unique Planets and Ship. I 'think' he wants to scatter planets throughout the Universe to be discovered, invaded, and developed as opposed to making planets the traditional way.

One could limit the number of allowable planets in a game at bang time (no idea what that number might be), and use a script to deploy and scatter planets.. and make all ships unable to carry atomic detonators (and Gen Torps).

_________________
----------------------------
-= There are 10 types of people in the world: Those that understand Binary and those who do not
-= If Oil is made from Dinosaurs, and Plastic is made from Oil... are plastic Dinosaurs made from real Dinosaurs?


Thu May 07, 2015 9:03 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Civilian

Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 10:00 am
Posts: 0
Unread post Re: Random Planets?
Yes I just want to scatter some of the stock planets around.

A script would be fine if I could find one also I would need to know how to apply it.

I do have a crude idea also but I need to know if the Gold AI is smart enough to use Gen Torps. I am thinking of making an alien race that is only for making planets and letting run free for about a week then just delete the entire race hopefully leaving the created planets abandon.


Fri May 08, 2015 7:21 am
Profile
Chief Warrant Officer

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 6:32 pm
Posts: 104
Unread post Re: Random Planets?
I made a script that will twarp to sectors on a list in a text file and fill those sectors with a desired planet type. I wanted it to fill a bubble with planets before doing a planet buyout in a long game.

It's pretty buggy and raw right now, if you want though I could smooth it out and send you a copy.

_________________
"TW: A proud tradition of...change is the only constant."

-Val


Fri May 08, 2015 9:26 am
Profile
Commander

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1707
Location: Guam USA
Unread post Re: Random Planets?
I have seen scripts that can make planets for port creation during a game.
This would be a player side script.
But what you are looking for is a server side script to create planets for you and set them up as well as relocate them randomly throughout the universe.

The only thing I have remotely like that is the Wondering Trophy Planet script.
Which would have to be cannibalized to make the script you would need.
That would take a lot of my free time to do.

The idea is kinda cool , I'll keep it in mind.
I have the Wondering Trophy Planet (script) game running on my server
as game L.

Are you a scripter ? For twx proxy (the language of choice for this).

I spend my free time on Team Speak 3 client on Zoom;s server.
Can be reached there when I am at home or at keys.

Vid Kid/CareTaker

_________________
TWGS V2 Vids World on Guam Port 2002
Telnet://202.151.82.243:2002
Team Speak3 Servers for TradeWars @
Zoom's Team Speak Server
ts3server://vs26.tserverhq.com:7214 This is where I'm at.

Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Ka Pla
Image

Image
Image


Sat May 09, 2015 1:06 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 3660
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Random Planets?
Darkwolf Jr wrote:
Yes I just want to scatter some of the stock planets around.

A script would be fine if I could find one also I would need to know how to apply it.

I do have a crude idea also but I need to know if the Gold AI is smart enough to use Gen Torps. I am thinking of making an alien race that is only for making planets and letting run free for about a week then just delete the entire race hopefully leaving the created planets abandon.


AI don't create planets, but you can make Gold planets for each race, decide what level the planet will be at big bang. When you bang the game, the planets will be created in random areas of the universe. You can make the AI weak and passive so they don't try too hard when defending their planets.

_________________
Image
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
Big Game 2016 Champs: Draft team


Classic Style Games Here:
telnet://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2002

flash client: http://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2004/PlayTW.html
Web page from 1990's: http://tradewars.fament.com/Cruncher/tradewar.htm
Blog with current server info: http://cruncherstw.blogspot.com
E-mail: Cruncherstw@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/CrunchersTW


Sat May 09, 2015 12:17 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Civilian

Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 10:00 am
Posts: 0
Unread post Re: Random Planets?
Well I want to seed the game with at least 100 planets And I don't know if I can add that many Gold aliens but it is worth looking into.

CBYNot your script sounds like it might work for what I need. I f possible I would like to take a look at it.

As far as TWX Proxy goes I have never used it. I have scripted for other games but not TW. Even when playing the game I don't use helpers


Sat May 09, 2015 2:36 pm
Profile
Chief Warrant Officer

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 6:32 pm
Posts: 104
Unread post Re: Random Planets?
Okay, I'll play with it some time this week.

Bear in mind this will require:

1) banging the game early and entering it as a player - but keeping game Closed so no one else enters until you're done tinkering
2) Tediting yourself a planet to launch from with lots of ore for the twarping and lots of cash to buy torps and detonators
3) laying fighters in all of the sectors you want planets banged to, the ones listed in the text file you use - a script like Ram's PathBlast script would do nicely if we're only talking hundreds of sectors
4) a few hours at minimum for the script to run if you're filling hundreds of sectors, more like 12 if you're doing a thousand or more
5) Either manually tediting the citadels on all the planets to whatever level you want (since you said you want players to have to invade), or running a script like promasscitbuilder to upgrade them all from inside the game
6) Deleting yourself in some fashion that leaves all the fighters and planets as abandoned (owned by Rogue Mercenaries) or, just letting everyone know the extra player in the game is the sysop and the objective is to take all his stuff

_________________
"TW: A proud tradition of...change is the only constant."

-Val


Sun May 10, 2015 5:20 pm
Profile
Commander

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1707
Location: Guam USA
Unread post Re: Random Planets?
CBYNot wrote:
Okay, I'll play with it some time this week.

Bear in mind this will require:

1) banging the game early and entering it as a player - but keeping game Closed so no one else enters until you're done tinkering
2) Tediting yourself a planet to launch from with lots of ore for the twarping and lots of cash to buy torps and detonators
3) laying fighters in all of the sectors you want planets banged to, the ones listed in the text file you use - a script like Ram's PathBlast script would do nicely if we're only talking hundreds of sectors
4) a few hours at minimum for the script to run if you're filling hundreds of sectors, more like 12 if you're doing a thousand or more
5) Either manually tediting the citadels on all the planets to whatever level you want (since you said you want players to have to invade), or running a script like promasscitbuilder to upgrade them all from inside the game
6) Deleting yourself in some fashion that leaves all the fighters and planets as abandoned (owned by Rogue Mercenaries) or, just letting everyone know the extra player in the game is the sysop and the objective is to take all his stuff


Doing it that way will take way too long , and make finding planets too easy.
Eprobes will show the first person playing where the planets are because of the eprobes stopping.

An easyer way (aside from the scripting) is to use some SysOp type script that will generate the planets at random sectors leaving no fighters in game.
Or the need for an ingame player to be T-edited :
outfitted to pop planets everywhere.

A big project though.

Vid

_________________
TWGS V2 Vids World on Guam Port 2002
Telnet://202.151.82.243:2002
Team Speak3 Servers for TradeWars @
Zoom's Team Speak Server
ts3server://vs26.tserverhq.com:7214 This is where I'm at.

Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Ka Pla
Image

Image
Image


Mon May 11, 2015 7:07 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Chief Warrant Officer

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 6:32 pm
Posts: 104
Unread post Re: Random Planets?
Darkwolf Jr wrote:
Well I want to seed the game with at least 100 planets And I don't know if I can add that many Gold aliens but it is worth looking into.

CBYNot your script sounds like it might work for what I need. I f possible I would like to take a look at it.

As far as TWX Proxy goes I have never used it. I have scripted for other games but not TW. Even when playing the game I don't use helpers


Would you still like a copy of this? I'm going to be playing with it in a minute.

As to Vid's point about finding the planets with eprobes, you should be able to use a script to strip your fighters out of the sectors after the planets are made.

_________________
"TW: A proud tradition of...change is the only constant."

-Val


Sun May 31, 2015 1:39 pm
Profile
Commander

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1707
Location: Guam USA
Unread post Re: Random Planets?
I went one step more , I raised the eprobe price to nearly as high as it will go
and then using the v2 delays to put a 3 second delay per sector.

Now eprobing is so painful , the players would rather walk around then to eprobe.

I will bang a fresh game using :
PortFixer (changes dock to SBB and moves it to adj sec 1 and back to sec 10)
Wandering Trophy Planet (a moving planet to try and claim)
Rand Planet Generator (the game will only have 10 planets to find & claim)

You can play as solo or corp. But it will take a corp to get the Wandering planet.

I'll be banging and opening the game up today.

Vid

_________________
TWGS V2 Vids World on Guam Port 2002
Telnet://202.151.82.243:2002
Team Speak3 Servers for TradeWars @
Zoom's Team Speak Server
ts3server://vs26.tserverhq.com:7214 This is where I'm at.

Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Ka Pla
Image

Image
Image


Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:48 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.