View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 1:06 am



Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 Trying to set up private TW game on my pc - hopelessly lost 
Author Message
Civilian

Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 3:19 pm
Posts: 0
Unread post Trying to set up private TW game on my pc - hopelessly lost
So I have TWGS running. annnd that's it. I have no idea what's next to configure and how to start the game? What's next? Help!


Mon Mar 28, 2016 4:01 pm
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1895
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Trying to set up private TW game on my pc - hopelessly l
Hi Henry,

Next you have to create a game. Click the "Command Center" button, select a game slot, give it a name, and the click "BigBang".

http://docs.classictw.com/index.php?title=Big_Bang

After big bang completes, activate the game, and then you are ready to go...

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Fri Apr 08, 2016 9:17 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Chief Warrant Officer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 1:01 am
Posts: 146
Location: Molon Labe
Unread post Re: Trying to set up private TW game on my pc - hopelessly l
You can download and import various edits, check here for public ones:

http://microblaster.net/TWAs.aspx

In the command center you have to select empty slot, assign title, import (with settings and data, etc), activate, rebang with new seed, make whatever changes, edit as you wish, etc.

_________________
The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding one’s self in the ranks of the insane.” — Marcus Aurelius


Fri Apr 08, 2016 1:20 pm
Profile ICQ
Sergeant Major

Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 8:36 am
Posts: 62
Unread post Re: Trying to set up private TW game on my pc - hopelessly l
Adept wrote:
You can download and import various edits, check here for public ones:

http://microblaster.net/TWAs.aspx

In the command center you have to select empty slot, assign title, import (with settings and data, etc), activate, rebang with new seed, make whatever changes, edit as you wish, etc.


You can also find a game Adept is in by himself, kill him off (it takes 3-5 minutes on average) and then play the game by yourself. It's like you are running it on your own PC, except someone else is running it for you! It's like a win-win!


Sat Apr 09, 2016 1:54 am
Profile
Chief Warrant Officer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 1:01 am
Posts: 146
Location: Molon Labe
Unread post Re: Trying to set up private TW game on my pc - hopelessly l
Wow, you're an absolute moron. (Gee, I guess I found myself a stalker.)

_________________
The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding one’s self in the ranks of the insane.” — Marcus Aurelius


Sat Apr 09, 2016 2:21 am
Profile ICQ
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 3664
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Trying to set up private TW game on my pc - hopelessly l


That's a very cool reference, who created it?

_________________
Image
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
Big Game 2016 Champs: Draft team


Classic Style Games Here:
telnet://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2002

flash client: http://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2004/PlayTW.html
Web page from 1990's: http://tradewars.fament.com/Cruncher/tradewar.htm
Blog with current server info: http://cruncherstw.blogspot.com
E-mail: Cruncherstw@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/CrunchersTW


Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:44 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1895
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Trying to set up private TW game on my pc - hopelessly l
Cruncher wrote:


That's a very cool reference, who created it?

That would be me, and it includes Trader's comments from http://www.tw-cabal.com/strategy/twgs_settings.html, as noted at the bottom.

[Correction]Those are Traitor's comments, not Trader... Sorry[/Correction]

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Last edited by Micro on Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:43 am, edited 1 time in total.



Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:18 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Commander

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 2:00 am
Posts: 1310
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Trying to set up private TW game on my pc - hopelessly l
Yellow card for Shadow2.
Seriously, if you cannot be civil, find another forum to measure your epeen on.

Adept, I understand your frustration with such small-minded chatter, but I would ask you to not respond in kind. It gives him the sort of validation his parents never gave. Do not feed the Troll.

_________________
Infecting others with a Polymorphic Virus since 1975.

Curing ignorance and terminal stupidity since 1999.

Questioning the intellectual abilities of three digit annual salary earners since 2015.


Mon Apr 11, 2016 6:21 pm
Profile WWW
Chief Warrant Officer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 1:01 am
Posts: 146
Location: Molon Labe
Unread post Re: Trying to set up private TW game on my pc - hopelessly l
I am attempting to setup my TWGS using a free DNS service, using ddns.net. So far I have been unable to realize a connection, I can via IP, but not with name resolution. I was wondering though if you have an independent Website can you redirect your DNS service through that so that instead of players using mytwgs.ddns.net they would use twgs.mydomainname.net? And if so does doing so result in delays in passing information or increase ping times for players or is there no notable difference?

Oh and in doing so does this cause problems for dynamic IP clients that use software, e.g., No-IPs DUC, to keep the IP updated and resolving?

ETA:

I attempted to connect again today via my DNS and it now seems to be working. Guess, it just was not updated on Internet yet, but is now.

Also, also setup a subdomain to test, with redirect; in the browser it is redirecting and I can see the attempt to connect in the TWGS menu (though browser screen is blank); however, when attempting to connect via SWATH it fails.

_________________
The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding one’s self in the ranks of the insane.” — Marcus Aurelius


Mon Apr 11, 2016 8:11 pm
Profile ICQ
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.