www.ClassicTW.com
http://classictw.com/

Skip opening screen?
http://classictw.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=35859
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Kim [ Tue Jun 07, 2022 10:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Skip opening screen?

When launching into TW2002, there are two screens prior to actually entering the game -- the first is the list of active games, with display of players online, and game descriptions - and the second displays the ANSI splash and then gives the menu with high scores, introduction, help, and launching the game itself.

Our server is only hosting the one game. Is there any way to configure it to skip that first screen completely and launch directly into our game?

It's not a huge deal really, but it would make things ever so slightly slicker for the players.

Thanks in advance!

Author:  Micro [ Thu Aug 04, 2022 1:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Skip opening screen?

Kim wrote:
Our server is only hosting the one game. Is there any way to configure it to skip that first screen completely and launch directly into our game?
No, there is not, and you would not want to do that anyway. Players like to look at the settings before entering a game, and check the High Scores so they can decide if they want to join the game. Some game strategies even require that the menu is there, and Mombot would not even function if you removed the menu.

Author:  Kim [ Thu Aug 04, 2022 1:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Skip opening screen?

Micro wrote:
No, there is not, and you would not want to do that anyway. Players like to look at the settings before entering a game, and check the High Scores so they can decide if they want to join the game. Some game strategies even require that the menu is there, and Mombot would not even function if you removed the menu.


That's not the menu I'm talking about. There's another menu before that one with the following choices:

<A> First Game Name
<#> Players Online
<!> Game Descriptions
<Q> Quit

Obviously it would be useful if you had more than one game, but if you only have one game it's literally just a dead prompt players have to sit through.

The menu you're describing (with settings, high scores, etc.) is after that.

Author:  Micro [ Thu Aug 04, 2022 1:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Skip opening screen?

Kim wrote:
That's not the menu I'm talking about. There's another menu before that one with the following choices:
No, there is not an option to skip this menu either.

I have a request in the issue database for this, but for a slightly different reason. When running TWGS behind a BBS, there is no way the BBS can control which specific games a player has access too.

Just add a second game ;) he he

JP is not currently developing TWGS/TW2002, but the issue is in the tracker if he ever returns.

Most players run Mombot, so we never see any menus anyway.

Author:  Crosby [ Sat Aug 06, 2022 9:04 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Skip opening screen?

Quote:
Obviously it would be useful if you had more than one game, but if you only have one game it's literally just a dead prompt players have to sit through.


If there were no options it would be a dead prompt, but you can hit
the # and get the who's online information. This is pretty handy
information for a player.

Author:  Vid Kid [ Thu Sep 15, 2022 8:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Skip opening screen?

Crosby wrote:
Quote:
Obviously it would be useful if you had more than one game, but if you only have one game it's literally just a dead prompt players have to sit through.


If there were no options it would be a dead prompt, but you can hit
the # and get the who's online information. This is pretty handy
information for a player.



You 'nailed it' @ Crosby
and you can try the 'hidden' $ to see ALL game(s) Settings on a TWGS.

Vid

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/