www.ClassicTW.com
http://classictw.com/

Invasion sequence questions
http://classictw.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=21028
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Caxis [ Mon Sep 29, 2008 10:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Invasion sequence questions

If I move into a sector with interdictors and quasars in attempt to invade while towing another ship full of figs and then I get podded, when I transport to the other ship still in the sector, will the quasars fire? Will I have to kill the figs in that sector?

Bruce

Author:  Promethius [ Mon Sep 29, 2008 10:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Invasion sequence questions

Caxis wrote:
If I move into a sector with interdictors and quasars in attempt to invade while towing another ship full of figs and then I get podded, when I transport to the other ship still in the sector, will the quasars fire? Will I have to kill the figs in that sector?

Bruce


If you get podded on the way in, your tow ship will not be in the sector with the planets. If you get podded doing a planet invasion, then you can xport (from another ship, not the pod as it is prob in-sector xport only) to the towed ship and try again w/o the sector cannon or mine and fighter issues. Check sing's site, navhaz.com and the tw-cabal link to see if there is a sequence of events on entry. If you drop connection and re-enter the game while in the hostile sector, all defenses fire.

Author:  Caxis [ Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Invasion sequence questions

You can fire torps in the sector and not be fired up after the quasar duration is up, right? Because that is the goal. Planet collisions in a sector of someone who vastly outguns me thanks to my extremely late entry into a game

Bruce

Author:  Caxis [ Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Invasion sequence questions

Also, doesn't a photon get you past sector figs? Cause I just tried something and I can't determine whether the photon wore off or whether it didn't work.

edit: disregard this question: I found my bookmark http://www.tw-cabal.com/strategy/invadingbases.html

Author:  Magnum [ Mon Oct 06, 2008 4:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Invasion sequence questions

If the planet is shielded you will still get hit by the Q cannon.

You can photon into the sector and avoid the figs if you uses a photon. You may have to use a macro to make it fast enough.

Author:  Promethius [ Mon Oct 06, 2008 6:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Invasion sequence questions

Magnum wrote:
If the planet is shielded you will still get hit by the Q cannon.

You can photon into the sector and avoid the figs if you uses a photon. You may have to use a macro to make it fast enough.


A macro will not work 100% of the time with a 1 second photon duration because you may have less than the 1 second interval to make the move. The timer doesn't start when the torp is launched, it is already running.

Say you launch a ptorp at 1:35:30:590 where 590 is the ms of the second. You now have 410 ms to get in on the wave and not 1 second. The goal would be to launch as close to 1:35:30:000 as possible to get the full second.

Someone can correct me on this, but the method I use hasn't ran into a problem in 1 second photon games, where macros have.

Author:  Big D [ Mon Oct 06, 2008 6:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Invasion sequence questions

Also, you have to remember that planet ore is not updated until you try to land. So if a planet is rogue, or the player that owns the planet hasn't been on in some time, the ore amount won't be updated. SO, you can enter the sector, and the blast willl be equivelant to the amount to the last time the planet was attempt to land on. Once you do a planet scan, the fuel ore amount is updated and the cannon blast will be updated. Basically , you can drain a sector blast down to nothing, but once you attempt to land, the fuel ore amount will be updated and the blast could be much larger.

Author:  Crosby [ Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Invasion sequence questions

love this little snippet, from here :
http://tw-cabal.navhaz.com/scripts/twx/one_second_photon.ts

Code:
:timer
send "ct"
waitfor ":"
getWord CURRENTLINE $initTime 1


:checkTime
send "t"
waitfor ":"
getWord CURRENTLINE $currentTime 1
waitfor "Computer"
if ($initTime <> $currentTime)
   goto :ptorp
else
   goto :checkTime
End
:ptorp
   send "py"
   send $targetNo
   send "*q"
   send $targetNo
   send "  nl"
   send $planetNo
   send "*"
# crosby shrugs, I added the waitfor ":" Trust, but verify


props to Kermit and Traitor of The Cabal. - 3/24/02

An excellent way to get the most out of a second!

Author:  Singularity [ Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Invasion sequence questions

Hehe, that script is old. A few things could be done to improve it, greatly. All of the waitfors after the T need to be removed, takes away the whole point of a macro.

Author:  Promethius [ Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Invasion sequence questions

Code snippet. This is not the complete script I use:

getword CURRENTLINE $time1 1

:compare
send "t"
# use the "," to make sure I get the full time stamp
waitfor ","
getword CURRENTLINE $time2 1
if ($time1 <> $time2)
goto :launchPhoton
end
goto :compare

:launchPhoton

# obviously this is only a partial line and there are more lines between it and :launchPhoton
send "py" $sectNumber "* qm " $sectNumber "*"

Author:  T0yman [ Tue Oct 07, 2008 1:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Invasion sequence questions

Big D wrote:
Also, you have to remember that planet ore is not updated until you try to land. So if a planet is rogue, or the player that owns the planet hasn't been on in some time, the ore amount won't be updated. SO, you can enter the sector, and the blast willl be equivelant to the amount to the last time the planet was attempt to land on. Once you do a planet scan, the fuel ore amount is updated and the cannon blast will be updated. Basically , you can drain a sector blast down to nothing, but once you attempt to land, the fuel ore amount will be updated and the blast could be much larger.


Interesting,

Thanks for the info, I have ran into this in the past but never sure why it was happening. Drain the sector get ready for planet landing and KABOOM!! WTF , glad I finally know the reason. Will be cautious in the future.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/