View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:34 am



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
 old school question 
Author Message
Ambassador

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1402
Location: Boo! inc. Ireland
Unread post old school question
I started goofing around in a pre twgs game and the H colos started dying off, as used be the case. Anyone remember the whys and the wherefores? Landing and scanning corp planets seems to trigger it, but IIRC it used not happen all the time and I cant remember details.

One other thing I noticed that I had almost forgotton - you cannot macro past a move between sectors, and if you script it, need to have a waitfor trigger to continue the script after the move. Was this change a contributor to the tendency to have scripts come to dominate play as much as they have?


Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:55 am
Profile
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: old school question
Kavanagh wrote:
I started goofing around in a pre twgs game and the H colos started dying off, as used be the case. Anyone remember the whys and the wherefores? Landing and scanning corp planets seems to trigger it, but IIRC it used not happen all the time and I cant remember details.


There's a hazard and habitability rating on each planet type. Basically, that determines it.
The colos compound as a fixed % over time, but they really only update when you land
and stuff. H planets can be pretty nasty in that regard.

Kavanagh wrote:
One other thing I noticed that I had almost forgotton - you cannot macro past a move between sectors, and if you script it, need to have a waitfor trigger to continue the script after the move. Was this change a contributor to the tendency to have scripts come to dominate play as much as they have?


Wha? Sure you can macro a move between sectors. What do you mean? And you
don't need a waitfor, just macro the whole thing. What exactly are you trying to do?

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Wed Jul 07, 2010 6:48 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Ambassador

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1402
Location: Boo! inc. Ireland
Unread post Re: old school question
Singularity wrote:

Wha? Sure you can macro a move between sectors. What do you mean? And you
don't need a waitfor, just macro the whole thing. What exactly are you trying to do?


Nod, you can macro a move between sectors, but you cant macro *past* the move. e.g., to clear a fig in 1234 and avoid an adjacent photon in twgs, I used macro 1234a100^M1^Myy (twarp to fed) or somesuch. Pre twgs, all that macro would do is move you to 1234 and sit there at the attack/retreat/surrender prompt. Similarly, with scripts, you cant script a move to terra, land, grab colos etc without a waitfor " (?=Help) :" after the move to terra, before the land/grab colos etc


Wed Jul 07, 2010 7:34 am
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 3872
Location: USA
Unread post Re: old school question
Singularity wrote:
Kavanagh wrote:
I started goofing around in a pre twgs game and the H colos started dying off, as used be the case. Anyone remember the whys and the wherefores? Landing and scanning corp planets seems to trigger it, but IIRC it used not happen all the time and I cant remember details.


There's a hazard and habitability rating on each planet type. Basically, that determines it.
The colos compound as a fixed % over time, but they really only update when you land
and stuff. H planets can be pretty nasty in that regard.


Yeah, that was one thing that really caught my eye is the growth rate of colos today. I was joking with my corpie asking him who put Viagra in the colos water!

Less hazardous planets = colos that behave like little bunnies!

Before TWGS were those levels hard-wired? I knew we used to try to come up with all sorts of goofy stuff to keep them from dying off. Don’t land, keep plenty of org and equip on hand... and finally don’t even look at the planet list for fear of killing more until the death cycle was over.

_________________
Image
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
Big Game 2016 Champs: Draft team
2018 HHT Champs: Rock Stars


Classic Style Games Here:
telnet://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2002

Web page from 1990's: https://web.archive.org/web/20170103155 ... adewar.htm
Blog with current server info: http://cruncherstw.blogspot.com
E-mail: Cruncherstw@gmail.com
FaceBook: http://www.facebook.com/CrunchersTW


Wed Jul 07, 2010 7:35 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: old school question
Kavanagh wrote:
Nod, you can macro a move between sectors, but you cant macro *past* the move. e.g., to clear a fig in 1234 and avoid an adjacent photon in twgs, I used macro 1234a100^M1^Myy (twarp to fed) or somesuch. Pre twgs, all that macro would do is move you to 1234 and sit there at the attack/retreat/surrender prompt. Similarly, with scripts, you cant script a move to terra, land, grab colos etc without a waitfor " (?=Help) :" after the move to terra, before the land/grab colos etc


Uhm. You can write a script to go to terra, land, and grab without a waitfor. I do it all the time.

If you do m1234a100^M1^Myy ...

You would move to 1234 and sit on the enemy fig, because the move to terra would still
be stuck on the fig. Ie, notice where your ^M is.

If on the other hand you want to kill the fig and twarp off...

m1234^Mza9999^Mm1^Myy

Move, killfig, twarp off. Z-buffer if no fig. Yes, you can still write macros. But you have to be
precise on the macro, and that's probably where the problem is.

Cruncher wrote:
Less hazardous planets = colos that behave like little bunnies!


Depending on the hab rating. Basically it's like this...

The hab rating is multiplied by a base factor and that's the
compound growth rate of the colos. The hazard rating is what
kills them off.

If you have a low haz but high hab rating, they'll grow like
bunnies and never die. If you have a low hab rating, they won't
breed as fast.

Cruncher wrote:
Before TWGS were those levels hard-wired? I knew we used to try to come up with all sorts of goofy stuff to keep them from dying off. Don’t land, keep plenty of org and equip on hand... and finally don’t even look at the planet list for fear of killing more until the death cycle was over.


Yes, it's a gold option in the gold planets editor.

I've ran all the numbers, there is no correlation between landing
and death rate, there is no correlation between eq or org and
death rate. It's a very simple formula.

The only difference is that planets are only updated on certain
events, so while you may not see the change yet... it's just waiting
for you to update the timestamp.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Wed Jul 07, 2010 7:54 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Ambassador

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1402
Location: Boo! inc. Ireland
Unread post Re: old school question
Sing, I think we are talking at crosspurposes. I'm talking about pre twgs tw2002 - back in the nineties. It was a different version. Very different in some ways, including the fact that you could not macro past a move between sectors. Any characters after the move were ignored, still are if you can find an old game like the one I'm messing around in.

I deliberately added "somesuch" after my above example macro, several years since I played, cant remember keystrokes.


Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:01 am
Profile
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: old school question
Kavanagh wrote:
Sing, I think we are talking at crosspurposes. I'm talking about pre twgs tw2002 - back in the nineties. It was a different version. Very different in some ways, including the fact that you could not macro past a move between sectors. Any characters after the move were ignored, still are if you can find an old game like the one I'm messing around in.


Ah, so you're stuck in some ancient version. Gotcha.

Yeh, good luck there. There's what, a hundred bugs to exploit? lol

Sounds like the twgs change made playing by hand a lot easier, since
you could actually macro stuff.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:15 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Ambassador

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1402
Location: Boo! inc. Ireland
Unread post Re: old school question
Apart from nuisance bugs that annoyed everyone, I can only remember one that was relatively unknown (many folk used megarob), it was the fig bug, which allowed you to duplicate the figs on your ship if memory serves, I think twice a day, effectively producing an extra 100k figs from a 50k ISS. Not really sure, SG would probably remember it. Sysop detectable if he/she knew of it and was on the ball.


Wed Jul 07, 2010 9:29 am
Profile
Chief Warrant Officer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 5:15 am
Posts: 142
Unread post Re: old school question
The door version of the game aborts displays a little differently than the TWGS version so if your macro includes any enters the game doesn't process the whole macro. You need to insert a few spaces into your macro for it to work right: 1234 a100^M 1^M yy


Wed Jul 07, 2010 4:09 pm
Profile
Ambassador

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1402
Location: Boo! inc. Ireland
Unread post Re: old school question
Thanks Scrat, that worked. Played for years and never knew that.


Thu Jul 08, 2010 2:24 am
Profile
Lieutenant J.G.
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2001 2:00 am
Posts: 347
Location: USA
Unread post Re: old school question
Its been awhile but I remember setting the cn setting to all keys and then you did'nt have to have the spaces. I do remember that some of my macro,s worked with it set to all keys, I think I had some macro's for fed space and others for open space, some I used with all keys and others not. It got rather confusing, I used a furb macro that I know I had to have settings to all keys, it you did'nt the macro froze and Freejack or mythandir, or others would try to kill you when you lifted off stardock.


Thu Jul 08, 2010 1:47 pm
Profile ICQ
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.