www.ClassicTW.com
http://classictw.com/

Best way to build planet shields on L5/L6 planets?
http://classictw.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=34927
Page 1 of 1

Author:  ctsurv553 [ Thu Aug 18, 2016 3:54 am ]
Post subject:  Best way to build planet shields on L5/L6 planets?

I have a ZOC script that works very nicely for automating the process of building up planet shields, but just discovered a serious problem: While it is possible to Warp an L5 or L6 planet to Alpha Centauri or Rylos, and run the script to buy/dump shields and figs, IF something goes wrong, like your Internet service goes down while the script is running, and you can't log back in right away, you will LOSE THAT PLANET if it is still at the Class 0 port at Extern. It looks like the Feds knock the Citadel back to L2 during the "Search for Heavily Armed Players in Fedspace" , and that's it. Your planet is now stuck there permanently and is completely defenseless. As far as I can determine, there's no way to ever move the planet again, because to move it, it has to be L4, but every time it builds back up to L3, the Feds will kick it back to L2 at Extern. So this is far too risky a way to get shields onto a planet. What's the most turn-efficient way that doesn't put the planet itself at risk? I assume it would be to use an ISS or CF. Use the Transport Pad in the citadel to get to SD, buy a load of shields, Twarp back to the planet, dump the shields, and repeat, right? Is there any more efficient way I am not thinking of? Thanks.

I knew the Feds clean out Sector Figs in the MSL's at Extern, but I had no idea they also knock out armed planets, too , even those belong to Blue players :( . The game is v3.34b Gold (non-MBBS).

Author:  Cruncher [ Thu Aug 18, 2016 7:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Best way to build planet shields on L5/L6 planets?

ctsurv553 wrote:
I have a ZOC script that works very nicely for automating the process of building up planet shields, but just discovered a serious problem: While it is possible to Warp an L5 or L6 planet to Alpha Centauri or Rylos, and run the script to buy/dump shields and figs, IF something goes wrong, like your Internet service goes down while the script is running, and you can't log back in right away, you will LOSE THAT PLANET if it is still at the Class 0 port at Extern. It looks like the Feds knock the Citadel back to L2 during the "Search for Heavily Armed Players in Fedspace" , and that's it. Your planet is now stuck there permanently and is completely defenseless. As far as I can determine, there's no way to ever move the planet again, because to move it, it has to be L4, but every time it builds back up to L3, the Feds will kick it back to L2 at Extern. So this is far too risky a way to get shields onto a planet. What's the most turn-efficient way that doesn't put the planet itself at risk? I assume it would be to use an ISS or CF. Use the Transport Pad in the citadel to get to SD, buy a load of shields, Twarp back to the planet, dump the shields, and repeat, right? Is there any more efficient way I am not thinking of? Thanks.

I knew the Feds clean out Sector Figs in the MSL's at Extern, but I had no idea they also knock out armed planets, too , even those belong to Blue players :( . The game is v3.34b Gold (non-MBBS).


Yeap, this is true and has been forever. Warping your planet to a Zero port is still the most efficient way to buy shields. Some players have modified their colonizing macros/scripts to buy shields when they grab colos. You may want to try that.

Author:  Micro [ Thu Aug 18, 2016 9:17 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Best way to build planet shields on L5/L6 planets?

You could also move the planet near one of the class 0 ports. Just make sure it isn't in an MSL.

You also have to watch your pdrop scripts. Your opponent could hit one of your figs next to an MSL right before extern and then invade your helpless planet right after extern.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/