View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 8:18 am



Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
 TWGS on Win10 ? 
Author Message
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 1:26 am
Posts: 165
Location: Martensville SK Canada
Unread post Re: TWGS on Win10 ?
as for SWATH i cannot help you. since i have no experience with the program.

_________________
http://bbs.slother3x.info
http://www.slother3x.info My own website, hosted by myself.

"it only takes one to ruin it for all"
"The promises of our youth will always haunt us in the wisdom of our old age"


Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:47 pm
Profile YIM
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 1:26 am
Posts: 165
Location: Martensville SK Canada
Unread post Re: TWGS on Win10 ?
aswell as TWXProxy

_________________
http://bbs.slother3x.info
http://www.slother3x.info My own website, hosted by myself.

"it only takes one to ruin it for all"
"The promises of our youth will always haunt us in the wisdom of our old age"


Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:50 pm
Profile YIM
Chief Warrant Officer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 1:01 am
Posts: 145
Location: Molon Labe
Unread post Re: TWGS on Win10 ?
Cruncher you have the telnet packages installed right?

GUI method is down a bit on the page:
https://www.rootusers.com/how-to-enable ... indows-10/

Otherwise, if it crashing every ten minutes could that be due to firewall or an IP reset on the part of Windows 10?

And connection info:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... ion-issues

_________________
The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding one’s self in the ranks of the insane.” — Marcus Aurelius


Last edited by Adept on Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:12 am, edited 1 time in total.



Wed Aug 17, 2016 4:37 am
Profile ICQ
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 3651
Location: USA
Unread post Re: TWGS on Win10 ?
OK, so here's the crazy part. I'm playing an old game (on my server) that I started before the upgrade, and everything is working fine.

I'll check with SK.

_________________
Image
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
Big Game 2016 Champs: Draft team


Classic Style Games Here:
telnet://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2002

flash client: http://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2004/PlayTW.html
Web page from 1990's: http://tradewars.fament.com/Cruncher/tradewar.htm
Blog with current server info: http://cruncherstw.blogspot.com
E-mail: Cruncherstw@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/CrunchersTW


Wed Aug 17, 2016 7:27 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1840
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: TWGS on Win10 ?
When Windows 10 was free, you had to do an "Upgrade" of an existing OS. Towards the end, they started allowing clean installs with a Windows 7 key though.

When you say it is "Crashing", what exactly is happening?

I agree with slother3x that a clean install is probably the best option. Backup your data and install from a USB thumb drive. When you get to the hard drive selection, delete all the partitions, including any recovery or factory installed partitions. Here is a great article on doing a clean install:

http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/1950 ... stall.html

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Wed Aug 17, 2016 8:32 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 3651
Location: USA
Unread post Re: TWGS on Win10 ?
TWXProxy Crash - Disconnects from the server & Swath, I get the exception error box window. The TWX Icon is no longer in the task bar.

Looking in the task manager, TWXProxy is still running in background processes. I cannot reconnect to it with Swath.


This is only happening on a new game on SK's server. I purged all my old game files except one. One old game started before the upgrade, TWXProxy is working fine, no crashes. (My game P on my server)

I agree, clean installs are best, I just didn't have time to reload all my software. All work related software is working, this is my only Win10 issue other than outdated drivers for my old laser printer.

_________________
Image
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
Big Game 2016 Champs: Draft team


Classic Style Games Here:
telnet://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2002

flash client: http://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2004/PlayTW.html
Web page from 1990's: http://tradewars.fament.com/Cruncher/tradewar.htm
Blog with current server info: http://cruncherstw.blogspot.com
E-mail: Cruncherstw@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/CrunchersTW


Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:18 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1840
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: TWGS on Win10 ?
Which game on SK's?

I assume you are running the latest version of twxproxy (2.05.73), and I also assume it is installed in a suitable location (i.e. c:\twxp). I would try creating a new database with a new name. I also recommend you turn off User Access Control (UAC).

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Wed Aug 17, 2016 10:07 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 11:28 pm
Posts: 582
Location: Rural Indiana
Unread post Re: TWGS on Win10 ?
Micro wrote:
Which game on SK's?

I assume you are running the latest version of twxproxy (2.05.73), and I also assume it is installed in a suitable location (i.e. c:\twxp). I would try creating a new database with a new name. I also recommend you turn off User Access Control (UAC).


Shes in game N. 14 people in the game and shes the only one reporting problems

sk

_________________
Star Killer
USA(RETIRED)
Proud Member of Killbillies & Cloud09 Perma Corps
Loyalty Above All Else Except Honor
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
2015 Lottery Tournament Winning Team Member
2016 Big Game Draft Tournament Winning Team Member
HHT 2016 Champs: Cloud09

Star Killer's Ice9 TWGS
TWGS V2 Telnet://SK-TWGS.COM:2002]
TWGS V1 Telnet://V1.SK-TWGS.COM:2002]
Website: http://sk-ice9.com
TeamSpeak 3 Server: ts3server://sk-twgs.com
Email: starkillerstwgs@yahoo.com
ICQ: 693542389
Ice 9 V2 TWGS: SK-TWGS.COM PORT 2002
The Sprawl V1 TWGS: V1.SK-TWGS.COM PORT 2002
Now The Fastest TWGS in the West
https://www.facebook.com/StarKillersTradeWars/


Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:48 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 11:28 pm
Posts: 582
Location: Rural Indiana
Unread post Re: TWGS on Win10 ?
Micro wrote:
Which game on SK's?

I assume you are running the latest version of twxproxy (2.05.73), and I also assume it is installed in a suitable location (i.e. c:\twxp). I would try creating a new database with a new name. I also recommend you turn off User Access Control (UAC).


Yeah Im guessing when she upgraded to win 10 she didn't upgrade to the newest version of twx. thats what it sounds like to me. I am running swath/twx 205.73 in a test game on my server with no problems...

sk

_________________
Star Killer
USA(RETIRED)
Proud Member of Killbillies & Cloud09 Perma Corps
Loyalty Above All Else Except Honor
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
2015 Lottery Tournament Winning Team Member
2016 Big Game Draft Tournament Winning Team Member
HHT 2016 Champs: Cloud09

Star Killer's Ice9 TWGS
TWGS V2 Telnet://SK-TWGS.COM:2002]
TWGS V1 Telnet://V1.SK-TWGS.COM:2002]
Website: http://sk-ice9.com
TeamSpeak 3 Server: ts3server://sk-twgs.com
Email: starkillerstwgs@yahoo.com
ICQ: 693542389
Ice 9 V2 TWGS: SK-TWGS.COM PORT 2002
The Sprawl V1 TWGS: V1.SK-TWGS.COM PORT 2002
Now The Fastest TWGS in the West
https://www.facebook.com/StarKillersTradeWars/


Wed Aug 17, 2016 12:23 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 3651
Location: USA
Unread post Re: TWGS on Win10 ?
Star Killer wrote:
Micro wrote:
Which game on SK's?

I assume you are running the latest version of twxproxy (2.05.73), and I also assume it is installed in a suitable location (i.e. c:\twxp). I would try creating a new database with a new name. I also recommend you turn off User Access Control (UAC).


Yeah Im guessing when she upgraded to win 10 she didn't upgrade to the newest version of twx. thats what it sounds like to me. I am running swath/twx 205.73 in a test game on my server with no problems...

sk


OK, got it. Trying again with a new data file.

Dang.. I sure can rust up fast! LOL

_________________
Image
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
Big Game 2016 Champs: Draft team


Classic Style Games Here:
telnet://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2002

flash client: http://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2004/PlayTW.html
Web page from 1990's: http://tradewars.fament.com/Cruncher/tradewar.htm
Blog with current server info: http://cruncherstw.blogspot.com
E-mail: Cruncherstw@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/CrunchersTW


Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:06 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.