View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:17 am



Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
 Bandwidth 
Author Message
Sergeant

Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 10:49 pm
Posts: 8
Unread post Bandwidth
What upload speed is required to handle a small TW server?

_________________
Image


Wed Oct 05, 2016 8:23 am
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1840
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Bandwidth
Very minimal unless you are going to host a Tournament, then it can easily eat up 20Mb or more.

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Wed Oct 05, 2016 10:35 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Gameop

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 2:41 am
Posts: 318
Unread post Re: Bandwidth
Wow, I did not realize it could require that much upload speed. Geez, time to spring for business class internet at the house.

_________________
Where Chaos Reigns TW Server
chaostwgs.darktech.org:23


Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:40 pm
Profile ICQ
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1840
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Bandwidth
IDK.. Maybe there was just something wrong with my connection during the last tournament... according to the firewall we never went above 500Kbps... but I couldn't even RDC in and start the game when it failed to open automatically.

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Fri Oct 07, 2016 8:44 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Chief Warrant Officer

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 5:39 pm
Posts: 123
Unread post Re: Bandwidth
I just assumed the start of tourneys wasn't the bandwidth from ZTM'ing but the calculations involved in mapping the routes causing CPU/game lag.

I'm guessing that no routes are stored so each time you plot a course it's doing a fair chunk of calculations.. have 10 people doing that multiple times per second..

It's be easy to test out using 20 local users vs 20 external users I guess.


Sat Oct 08, 2016 1:20 am
Profile
Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 11:28 pm
Posts: 582
Location: Rural Indiana
Unread post Re: Bandwidth
Micro wrote:
IDK.. Maybe there was just something wrong with my connection during the last tournament... according to the firewall we never went above 500Kbps... but I couldn't even RDC in and start the game when it failed to open automatically.



I know during During ice I went way above 500k why it kept crashing cause 500k was all I had thanks to my old ISP downgrading and not telling me and I didnt think to test anything b4 hand.

sk

_________________
Star Killer
USA(RETIRED)
Proud Member of Killbillies & Cloud09 Perma Corps
Loyalty Above All Else Except Honor
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
2015 Lottery Tournament Winning Team Member
2016 Big Game Draft Tournament Winning Team Member
HHT 2016 Champs: Cloud09

Star Killer's Ice9 TWGS
TWGS V2 Telnet://SK-TWGS.COM:2002]
TWGS V1 Telnet://V1.SK-TWGS.COM:2002]
Website: http://sk-ice9.com
TeamSpeak 3 Server: ts3server://sk-twgs.com
Email: starkillerstwgs@yahoo.com
ICQ: 693542389
Ice 9 V2 TWGS: SK-TWGS.COM PORT 2002
The Sprawl V1 TWGS: V1.SK-TWGS.COM PORT 2002
Now The Fastest TWGS in the West
https://www.facebook.com/StarKillersTradeWars/


Sat Oct 08, 2016 2:22 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1840
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Bandwidth
We have 17 players in HHT today, and I am not seeing any of the problems we experiences in the last tournament.. Bandwidth usage is <1KBPS according to the TWGS console, and my remote desktop session to the server is not lagging. Speedtest.net indicates there is no significant drain on my available bandwidth.

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:15 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1094
Location: Tucson, AZ
Unread post Re: Bandwidth
A lot of small packets can burn up a lot of bandwidth with a relatively small amount of actual data being transferred.

_________________
Suddenly you're Busted!


Mon Nov 07, 2016 2:00 am
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1840
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Bandwidth
...and I think TWGS v2 creates smaller packets than v1.
I will do some testing when I have time...

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Tue Nov 08, 2016 4:57 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1094
Location: Tucson, AZ
Unread post Re: Bandwidth
Micro wrote:
...and I think TWGS v2 creates smaller packets than v1.
I will do some testing when I have time...


I have a vague memory that even text you would expect be sent in one packet often arrives split up into several. I don't know if this is caused by TWGS, the hosting OS, the Internet, or a combination of all three. I'm preparing to collect some data.

_________________
Suddenly you're Busted!


Tue Nov 08, 2016 11:00 pm
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1840
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Bandwidth
There were scripting problems because of the way v2 handles data.

For instance, if you trigger on "Command" you won't be able to find the sector number and you have to trigger on "(?=help)" instead. This is because the line is being split between two packets and TWX Proxy doesn't wait for the seconds half.

Scripts triggering on "Command" worked fine in v1, so this is specific to v2...

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Wed Nov 09, 2016 12:07 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1094
Location: Tucson, AZ
Unread post Re: Bandwidth
That's the kind of thing I'm interested in. Sounds like my vague memory is right.

_________________
Suddenly you're Busted!


Thu Nov 10, 2016 2:56 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.