View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:22 pm



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 Label Ships Bot Addon 
Author Message
Chief Warrant Officer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 1:01 am
Posts: 145
Location: Molon Labe
Unread post Label Ships Bot Addon
This is a simple routine to re-register the name all unmanned ships at StarDock (including your presently manned ship) so that their corresponding ship number is displayed along with its name. Several checks are performed, checking on hand cash, turns available, xport access to the ship, etc.

So basically the ship name for ship #: 55, "USS Enterprise", becomes "USS Enterprise-55".

This script is inspired by a really nice idea Hammer practices, which is handy when working with ships on a frequent basis.

Notes:

--This is the first version, not all aspects have yet been thoroughly tested; but in general it works.

--It only accounts for ship names up to 15-characters long. Additionally, if the ship name cuts the ship number off, if that ship is in the sector the next time the script is ran it will re-register it and corrupt the ship name in the process (e.g., "My Gobblygook-50" would become something like "My Gobblygook-5-50".) (As the TW tow/xport display only provides enough space for the 15-characters.) Otherwise previously processed ships will be bypassed.

(to better solve this I think I am going to change the way it search the name to instead just look for a - within the last four spaces of the ship name. It is still not full proof but does further decrease the odds of the issue arising.)

--Place file in "Mombot\Commands\General"

--Command is: lships while at the StarDock with whatever number of ships present, including your currently occupied ship.


Attachment:
lships.cts [8.42 KiB]
Downloaded 29 times

Attachment:
lships.ts [5.49 KiB]
Downloaded 32 times

_________________
The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding one’s self in the ranks of the insane.” — Marcus Aurelius


Last edited by Adept on Mon Dec 19, 2016 5:33 am, edited 1 time in total.



Sun Dec 18, 2016 5:06 pm
Profile ICQ
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1094
Location: Tucson, AZ
Unread post Re: Label Ships Bot Addon
Interesting. What's the advantage of doing this?

_________________
Suddenly you're Busted!


Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:58 pm
Profile WWW
Chief Warrant Officer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 1:01 am
Posts: 145
Location: Molon Labe
Unread post Re: Label Ships Bot Addon
A few off the top of my head, include:

It provides an advantage when running macros as you have the ship number right there on display.

It helps to better track ships when (team) red cashing.

It better helps corps to manage ships when exchanging ships so as to prevent confusion when there are lots of identically classed ships with the same ship name.

_________________
The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding one’s self in the ranks of the insane.” — Marcus Aurelius


Mon Dec 19, 2016 12:37 am
Profile ICQ
Chief Warrant Officer

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 5:39 pm
Posts: 123
Unread post Re: Label Ships Bot Addon
The biggest one was when we had 100+ ships for a buy out.

You have 4-5 in your sector and want to xport to a specialist ship.

Display sector, there is it's ID vs look at the xport list which when huge is hard to read. Then mombot command to switch.

Also handy not hitting "x" in v2 when it lags the crap out of the game plotting all those courses for distance.


Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:37 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.