View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 12:25 pm



Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 Possible Cit Upgrade Bug? Not sure... 
Author Message
Sergeant Major
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:29 am
Posts: 66
Unread post Possible Cit Upgrade Bug? Not sure...
This is something I ran into today, it gave me inaccurate info about which cit level was being upgraded. Notice that when I'm constructing a quasar cannon, it says "your Planetary Transwarp Drive System will be complete in..."

It doesn't appear to affect anything substantively. Bug or poor wording? What's the difference? AFAIK you can't cause that to happen with planet edits.

Ver# 3.13 Gold running under Sockets.

Code:
Construction of a Quasar Cannon on this type of planet requires
the following:
             4,000,000 Colonists to support the construction,
                   500 units of Fuel Ore,
                   250 units of Organics,
                   500 units of Equipment and
                     0 days to construct.

Do you wish to construct a Quasar Cannon? Yes
Thanks to the miracles of modern technology, your
Planetary TransWarp Drive System will be completed in 0 days!


Planetary TransWarp construction on this type of planet requires
the following:
             6,000,000 Colonists to support the construction,
                 1,000 units of Fuel Ore,
                 1,200 units of Organics,
                 1,000 units of Equipment and
                     0 days to construct.

Do you wish to construct a Planetary TransWarp Drive System? Yes
Thanks to the miracles of modern technology, your
Planetary Defense Shielding System will be completed in 0 days!

Planetary Shielding System construction on this type of planet requires
the following:
             6,000,000 Colonists to support the construction,
                   300 units of Fuel Ore,
                   400 units of Organics,
                 1,000 units of Equipment and
                     3 days to construct.

Do you wish to construct a Planetary Defense Shielding System? Yes
Thanks to the miracles of modern technology, your
Planetary Defense Shielding System will be completed in 3 days!



-------------- another example ---------------


<Upgrade Citadel>


This Citadel does not have a Quasar Cannon.  If you wish to construct one,
you must first have the raw materials on the planet to build it.

A properly deployed Quasar Cannon is the most powerful weapon known today.
With an adequate fuel supply, a Q-Cannon can outlast even the most powerful
fleet and survive with its base planet intact.  A Quasar Cannon can only
reach ships in the sector its base planet is in, but it reaches them with
an effective firepower that only some large BattleShips can match.

Construction of a Quasar Cannon on this type of planet requires
the following:
             4,000,000 Colonists to support the construction,
                   500 units of Fuel Ore,
                   250 units of Organics,
                   500 units of Equipment and
                     0 days to construct.

Do you wish to construct a Quasar Cannon? Yes
Thanks to the miracles of modern technology, your
Planetary TransWarp Drive System will be completed in 0 days!

Citadel treasury contains 0 credits.
Citadel command (?=help) U

<Upgrade Citadel>


This Citadel does not have a Planetary TransWarp Drive.  To construct one,
you must first have the raw materials on the planet to build it.

With a fully operational Planetary TransWarp drive in place, you can move
your planets to any sector you defend!  Your white dwarf star that provides
light and heat for your planet is moved as well in the massive TransWarp
field that this awesome engine creates.  The amount of fuel required to
generate this field is tremendous though, and you will only be able to move
your planet once every 9-10 days.

Planetary TransWarp construction on this type of planet requires
the following:
             6,000,000 Colonists to support the construction,
                 1,000 units of Fuel Ore,
                 1,200 units of Organics,
                 1,000 units of Equipment and
                     0 days to construct.

Do you wish to construct a Planetary TransWarp Drive System? Yes
Thanks to the miracles of modern technology, your
Planetary TransWarp Drive System will be completed in 0 days!

Citadel treasury contains 0 credits.
Citadel command (?=help) U

<Upgrade Citadel>


This Citadel does not have a Planetary Shielding System.  To construct one,
you must first have the raw materials on the planet to build it.

With a fully operational Planetary Shielding System in place, you can rest
assured that no one will easily take over your planet!  Planetary Shields
will prevent not only enemy ships from landing, but they will also negate
the effects of the Photon Missile.  Shielding Control is maintained through
a series of geosynchronous satellites that you transfer shield generators
to.  You can build this level up to a considerable defensive power.

Planetary Shielding System construction on this type of planet requires
the following:
             6,000,000 Colonists to support the construction,
                   300 units of Fuel Ore,
                   400 units of Organics,
                 1,000 units of Equipment and
                     3 days to construct.

Do you wish to construct a Planetary Defense Shielding System? Yes
Thanks to the miracles of modern technology, your
Planetary Defense Shielding System will be completed in 3 days!


Sun Mar 18, 2012 8:39 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Possible Cit Upgrade Bug? Not sure...
Is this a bug on the current version?

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Sun Mar 18, 2012 9:06 pm
Profile WWW
Sergeant Major
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:29 am
Posts: 66
Unread post Re: Possible Cit Upgrade Bug? Not sure...
I don't appear to be running into it on my local 3.33 TWGS (I think that's the most current.)

Weird though, I don't think you can cause this with a TWA, and if you haven't consciously fixed it recently... weird stuff.


Sun Mar 18, 2012 9:25 pm
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:57 am
Posts: 3367
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Unread post Re: Possible Cit Upgrade Bug? Not sure...
Thorindude wrote:
I don't appear to be running into it on my local 3.33 TWGS (I think that's the most current.)

Weird though, I don't think you can cause this with a TWA, and if you haven't consciously fixed it recently... weird stuff.

That’s another I see in both v1.03 and v2.xx. It happens to me when I am upping a cit multiple times. I posted about it once but when they asked me to reproduce it I tried and tried but I could never make it happen when I 'slowly' upgraded the cits (slowly so I could capture the full text)

CUY - Level 1
CUY - Level 2
UY - Level 3 <--- Happens here, game says level 4
UY - Level 4 <--- Happens here, game says level 5
UY - Level 5
UY - Level 6

But I could never reproduce it moving slowly

H

_________________
Helix
Do I really look like a guy with a plan? You know what I am? I'm a dog chasing cars.
Getting (re)started in TradeWars? Time to update the package, its been 3 years.
Lest we forget


Sun Mar 18, 2012 9:32 pm
Profile WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Possible Cit Upgrade Bug? Not sure...
I know I did fix something like this sometime in v2. I'm sure it's in the revision history notes.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:03 pm
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:57 am
Posts: 3367
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Unread post Re: Possible Cit Upgrade Bug? Not sure...
I did a search on planet and citadel in the revision history and came up with nothing related to this.

H

_________________
Helix
Do I really look like a guy with a plan? You know what I am? I'm a dog chasing cars.
Getting (re)started in TradeWars? Time to update the package, its been 3 years.
Lest we forget


Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:10 pm
Profile WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Possible Cit Upgrade Bug? Not sure...
Darnit, now I have to check... ;)

Yeah, I'm not seeing it either. I could go back to my SVN revision history, but I don't know if it's that important. I do recall having addressed a bug that would cause the Citadel upgrade message to report the wrong Citadel type, but I don't remember all the details.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:17 pm
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:57 am
Posts: 3367
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Unread post Re: Possible Cit Upgrade Bug? Not sure...
It only happens when upgrading from one level to another. ie upping to level 2, getting the message for level 3, upping to level 3 from level 2, getting the level 4 message.

I could never make this happen if I upgraded slowly, it only happened when I was typing as fast as I can. cuy, cuy, uy, uy, uy....

And when the error happens it always shows the message for the NEXT cit level, never the previous level.

ie if it happens, you get the message for upping to Level 3 Quasar, when upping to Level 2. You get the message for upping to Level 4 Transwarp, when upping to Level 3

H

_________________
Helix
Do I really look like a guy with a plan? You know what I am? I'm a dog chasing cars.
Getting (re)started in TradeWars? Time to update the package, its been 3 years.
Lest we forget


Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:22 pm
Profile WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1096
Location: Tucson, AZ
Unread post Re: Possible Cit Upgrade Bug? Not sure...
IIRC, this had something to do with instant cit upgrades. It doesn't happen if they take 1 day or more.

_________________
Suddenly you're Busted!


Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:43 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.