View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:27 pm



Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Ping Times 
Author Message
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1880
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Ping Times
I was seeing 0ms ping times for all nodes for several releases, and now I am seeing 50ms for every node on v2.16:

Attachment:
50ms.gif
50ms.gif [ 44.15 KiB | Viewed 3823 times ]

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:09 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Ping Times
What is your latency emulation set to? Did you set it to 50 ms from the default 150 ms?

I can't think of any changes I made to that code in the last few releases, but I'll double-check.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Fri Jan 06, 2012 3:40 am
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1880
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Ping Times
Yes, emulation is set to 50ms, and I probably had it set to 0 when I was seeing 0ms pings.

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Fri Jan 06, 2012 4:00 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Ping Times
Ok. It will never show larger than the defined ping time. I'll look at that. It might make more sense to show the actual ping time even if it's over the threshold. But currently, if you have a low ping time set and most of your players have a true ping that's above that amount, it'll just show the defined ping time. I think that's what you're seeing.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Fri Jan 06, 2012 10:12 am
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1880
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Ping Times
yeah, if it displayed actual ping times, I would know if I need to increase the emulation delay for the players in that game.

Another problem is that the in game ping (i.e. proping.ts) also returns the emulation speed instead of the actual players ping.

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:30 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Ping Times
I would assume the scripted ping measure would be the actual ping, not the ping setting from TW. So that's surprising. I could see the actual pings being < 50 ms but the ping script measuring everyone at 50 ms, because that's how it would work ideally. But if everyone is showing 50 ms, I'd expect everyone to be at or above 50 ms, meaning the ping script would measure values above that. So this is kind of unexpected and confusing.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:11 pm
Profile WWW
Commander

Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 2:00 am
Posts: 1010
Unread post Re: Ping Times
Also might wanna check your conneciton Micro. I've had some bad lag issues.. It's been periodical raning 200-300 ish.. I've checked my ocnneciton more than once and it's been fine..


Fri Jan 06, 2012 3:33 pm
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:57 am
Posts: 3367
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Unread post Re: Ping Times
Comet wrote:
Also might wanna check your conneciton Micro. I've had some bad lag issues.. It's been periodical raning 200-300 ish.. I've checked my ocnneciton more than once and it's been fine..


Comet you should run a tracetr to micro's server to make sure the lag isn't caused by some point between you two.

H

_________________
Helix
Do I really look like a guy with a plan? You know what I am? I'm a dog chasing cars.
Getting (re)started in TradeWars? Time to update the package, its been 3 years.
Lest we forget


Fri Jan 06, 2012 3:49 pm
Profile WWW
Commander

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1707
Location: Guam USA
Unread post Re: Ping Times
I have a game set to 150 ms
and most players read as 150ms
except one guy who plays from New Zealand , he comes on as 128ms
and every so often the scale updates (default of 1 second I think)
and it bounces to 138 , 131 , 130 , 128

So I'm going to guess if you set your limit to a reasonable rate ...
only those who are under the limit will fluctuate
all others will show the limit.

As with others I had thought that that ping scale would show actual ping times.

_________________
TWGS V2 Vids World on Guam Port 2002
Telnet://202.151.82.243:2002
Team Speak3 Servers for TradeWars @
Zoom's Team Speak Server
ts3server://vs26.tserverhq.com:7214 This is where I'm at.

Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Ka Pla
Image

Image
Image


Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:35 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Commander

Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 2:00 am
Posts: 1010
Unread post Re: Ping Times
Helix wrote:
Comet wrote:
Also might wanna check your conneciton Micro. I've had some bad lag issues.. It's been periodical raning 200-300 ish.. I've checked my ocnneciton more than once and it's been fine..


Comet you should run a tracetr to micro's server to make sure the lag isn't caused by some point between you two.

H



Thank you I will do that


Fri Jan 06, 2012 8:04 pm
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1880
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Ping Times
It was slow earlier, but it seems to be better now:
Attachment:
Capture.GIF
Capture.GIF [ 13.78 KiB | Viewed 3765 times ]

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:03 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Ping Times
So with those pings, you should see some at less than 50 ms.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:16 am
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1880
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Ping Times
I am saw one player at 38ms a minute ago. Sometimes I get an Oklahoma City player at about 10-20ms. I set the emulation back to 150ms, and I can see most my players are 50-75ms ATM:

Attachment:
Capture.GIF
Capture.GIF [ 2.23 KiB | Viewed 3758 times ]


I'm going to set emulation to 75ms, which will limit lag for most players.

It might be nice to allow a formula to be used to set the emulation based on average player ping, or a max ping, or maybe discard the fastest and slowest x players and then use the average ping. That way the game could run faster if there aren't very many slow connections.

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:19 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Ping Times
Relative to v1.03, a 150 ms ping shouldn't be too bad. That's because there is a random delay of from 0 to 250 ms for any command received by TW, and that averages out to about 125 ms. But that delay is compounded with the actual ping time, it doesn't absorb it like the new ping setting does. So even at 150 ms, I expect it to perform as well as v1.03 in general.

The whole point of this setting is to allow you to level the playing field so your faster ping players don't have so much of an advantage over the slower ping players. If you don't want that, set this to 0.

I do think it should be consistent in a given game, though. I don't think it's fair for player A to be able to play with 20 ms pings while player B can't do better than 150 ms pings. If you don't think that's an issue, don't use ping emulation at all. But if you want to level it, I think it's better that it's consistent. I'm sure I could do a dynamic ping setting, but I don't know that it would be useful.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:12 am
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1880
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Ping Times
In example, say a game has 2 players:

A - 45ms ping
B - 65ms ping

A setting of 150 or higher would give them unecessary lag, but a setting of 75 would put them on even ground. Now let's say a third player connects:

C - 146ms ping

This third player would be at a disavantage, but if the emulation was dynamic and changed to 150 when the third player connected everyone would be on the same ground again. When the third players leaves it could switch back to a lower setting again because the extra lag is no longer needed.

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:54 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.