View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Apr 07, 2020 4:40 am



Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Cannon bug 
Author Message
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Cannon bug
Testing a new script, noticed a bug.

Sector 7214, I have the dupe land on the planet and eat a
blast. Notice he pods out, even says that he warps out of
the sector. However the dupe is still at the [Pause] prompt,
it doesn't touch anything.

The script pwarps a planet to a nearby DE, it's figged by
our fig.

Then, on the dupe acct, I hit enter to get passed the pause.
Lo and behold, now the game recognizes him in the sector.
Notice when I scan, the dupe's empty ship (I xported him out)
is sitting there. It should've fled out when he podded, but
instead it only recognized the change after getting past the
pause prompt.

This is a potential problem, since it means anyone can ride
the blast as long as they don't get past the pause prompt.
Even worse, it says they've fled out when they haven't.

I don't think it did this in the non-beta, maybe someone can
verify that.

Quote:

Planet #16 in sector 7214: .
Class k-jUOH, Cabbage Patch
Created by: Sing
Claimed by: Boo, Inc! [1]

Item Colonists Colonists Daily Planet Ship Planet
(1000s) 2 Build 1 Product Amount Amount Maximum
------- --------- --------- --------- --------- --------- ---------
Fuel Ore 100,143 2 49,928 2,000,000 100 2,000,000
Organics 0 10 0 0 0 10,000
Equipment 0 10 0 0 0 10,000
Fighters N/A 4 24,964 2,000,000 39,992 2,000,000

Planet has a level 6 Citadel, treasury contains 1,038,446,272,676 credits.
Military reaction=50%, QCannon power=100%, AtmosLvl=50%, SectLvl=0%
-=-=-=-=-=- TransWarp power = 5000 hops -=-=-=-=-=-
ÛÛÛÛ Planetary Defense Shielding Power Level = 200 ÛÛÛÛ
Planetary Interdictor Generator = INACTIVE
-=-=-=-=-=- TransPort power = 49 hops -=-=-=-=-=-

Planet command (?=help) [D] C
<Enter Citadel>

Citadel command (?=help)

Sub-space radio (32586): [<ENTER> for multiple lines]

'{sing} - psaver - Running on planet #16.

Message sent on sub-space channel 32586.

Grid Dupe warps into the sector.
Quasar Cannon on . blasted Grid Dupe for 2000000 points (atmos)
Quasar Cannon on . DESTROYED Grid Dupe
Grid Dupe's ship just exploded into a brilliant fireball!
Grid Dupe warps out of the sector.

Citadel command (?=help) L

Qcannon Control Type : S

What level do you want (0-100) ? 0

Citadel command (?=help) L
Citadel command (?=help)


Qcannon Control Type : A

What level do you want (0-100) ? 50

Citadel command (?=help) M

What level do you want (0-100) ? 50

Citadel command (?=help) N


<Interdictor Generator Control>

Your Interdictor Generator is now INACTIVE
Do you want to change this setting? (Y/N) No

Citadel treasury contains 1,038,452,282,206 credits.
Citadel command (?=help) S

<Scan Sector>

Sector : 7214 in uncharted space.
Ports : New Ellyianarre, Class 2 (BSB)
Planets : <<<< (k) . >>>> (Shielded)
(L) .
NavHaz : 3% (Space Debris/Asteroids)
Warps to Sector(s) : 9874 - 20089 - 20983

Citadel treasury contains 1,038,452,282,206 credits.
Citadel command (?=help)


Citadel command (?=help) P

<Planetary TransWarp Drive>

What sector do you want to warp this planet to? (Q to Abort) 13828
Sector 13828 is 9 hops away from here.
Locating beam pinpointed, TransWarp Locked.
All Systems Ready, shall we engage? Yes

-=-=-=- Planetary TransWarp Drive Engaged! -=-=-=-
Planet is now in sector 13828

Citadel treasury contains 1,038,452,522,589 credits.
Citadel command (?=help)

Sub-space radio (32586): [<ENTER> for multiple lines]

'sing page

Message sent on sub-space channel 32586.

Loading and compiling script: scripts\cbot\page.ts

Sub-space radio (32586): [<ENTER> for multiple lines]

'{sing} - Paging player...

Message sent on sub-space channel 32586.

Citadel command (?=help)
Script terminated: scripts\cbot\page.ts

Sub-space radio (32586): [<ENTER> for multiple lines]

'{sing} - Player paged!

Message sent on sub-space channel 32586.

Citadel command (?=help)

Sub-space radio (32586): [<ENTER> for multiple lines]

'{sing} - psaver - Running on planet #16.

Message sent on sub-space channel 32586.

Citadel command (?=help) S

<Scan Sector>

Sector : 13828 in uncharted space (unexplored).
Planets : <<<< (k) . >>>> (Shielded)
Ships : Galileo [Owned by] Gridder [2], w/ 2 ftrs,
(Haunted Industries ** ! Drat! ! **)
Fighters: 1 (belong to your Corp) [Defensive]
Warps to Sector(s) : (27299)

Citadel treasury contains 1,038,459,493,680 credits.
Citadel command (?=help)

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Thu Oct 21, 2010 4:59 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1722
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Cannon bug
how did ship leave shield prompt? did u retreat off shields or did the ship just appear in sector?

_________________
Coconut Telegraph (ICQ)#586137616
Team Speak3@ 220.244.125.70:9987
Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Winner of Gridwars 2010 - Ka Pla
Image
Jesus wounldn't Subspace Crawl


Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:00 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Cannon bug
Parrothead wrote:
how did ship leave shield prompt? did u retreat off shields or did the ship just appear in sector?


When you land and get blasted there's a [Pause] prompt.

Once you clear the pause prompt (hit enter, whatever),
you then appear in the sector. As I said above, I appeared
in the sector when I hit enter. I xported the dupe out and
then scanned the sector from the other acct to verify what
I saw.

I never even made it to the shield prompt. I was in a ship
with 2500 figs and the cannon blast was 500k.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:40 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1722
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Cannon bug
but u were in sector prior to landing or did u macro enter and land?

_________________
Coconut Telegraph (ICQ)#586137616
Team Speak3@ 220.244.125.70:9987
Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Winner of Gridwars 2010 - Ka Pla
Image
Jesus wounldn't Subspace Crawl


Fri Oct 22, 2010 7:49 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Cannon bug
Parrothead wrote:
but u were in sector prior to landing or did u macro enter and land?


As I said in the above post...

Dupe landed. Cannon blasted. Dupe got the [Pause] prompt.

At the cannon message, script moved planet. Got a podded,
warps out msg for the dupe.

Dupe hit enter at the [Pause] prompt. Dupe is now in the new
sector, not in any flee sector, and underneath corp figs.

Ie: Dupe was still on the planet while at the [Pause] prompt.
It wasn't until dupe cleared the prompt that he went to sector.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Fri Oct 22, 2010 8:26 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1722
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Cannon bug
Well if u can duplicate it then JP has a error in sequence.

However in the past it seems to have made a difference in some of these bugs if the character invovled actually Viewed the sector from the command prompt....instead "spacing out" the sector display. So if your "dupe" macro landed on the planet from another sector then it might make a difference.

Similar to the character still shopping at stardock after it becomes rubble

_________________
Coconut Telegraph (ICQ)#586137616
Team Speak3@ 220.244.125.70:9987
Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Winner of Gridwars 2010 - Ka Pla
Image
Jesus wounldn't Subspace Crawl


Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:06 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Cannon bug
Parrothead wrote:
Well if u can duplicate it then JP has a error in sequence.


Dude, I've already done that. As you can see from my first post, I'm
about a light year past that. I have the specific conditions in which it
occurs. It's an exploitable bug that needs fixed.

Parrothead wrote:
However in the past it seems to have made a difference in some of these bugs if the character invovled actually Viewed the sector from the command prompt....instead "spacing out" the sector display. So if your "dupe" macro landed on the planet from another sector then it might make a difference.


This has nothing to do with viewing a sector, or spacing it out. The dupe
was at the pause prompt from landing on a planet. He was on the planet.
It wasn't until after the pause prompt that he ended in sector. Getting
sent to sector should happen when you pod out, not when you get past
the pause, since a person can sit on the pause forever. The podding and
sector change should happen before the pause prompt.

Parrothead wrote:
Similar to the character still shopping at stardock after it becomes rubble


No, this has nothing to do with that, nor is it related in any way to that.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:21 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1722
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Cannon bug
Yes we all know that the stardock bug has nothing to do with the planet bug you are discussing.

It is the same type of timing issue with the software

_________________
Coconut Telegraph (ICQ)#586137616
Team Speak3@ 220.244.125.70:9987
Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Winner of Gridwars 2010 - Ka Pla
Image
Jesus wounldn't Subspace Crawl


Fri Oct 22, 2010 11:19 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Cannon bug
Parrothead wrote:
It is the same type of timing issue with the software


It's just a matter of making the pod happen before the pause.
You don't need to make it sound more complicated than it is.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:01 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1722
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Cannon bug
Complicated? More likely moving a sub call a few lines up or down.

_________________
Coconut Telegraph (ICQ)#586137616
Team Speak3@ 220.244.125.70:9987
Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Winner of Gridwars 2010 - Ka Pla
Image
Jesus wounldn't Subspace Crawl


Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:26 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Cannon bug
Parrothead wrote:
Complicated? More likely moving a sub call a few lines up or down.


That's probably about it.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Sat Oct 23, 2010 3:11 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1722
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Cannon bug
In reproducing this event.

1)Pod gave another sector location via TA (so it knew where it was SUPPOSED to go)

2)No landing message seen from cit
No...ship just exploded into a brilliant fireball!


3)No pod warps out message either

4)No lifts off message when pods lifts upon hitting space or enter


5)After planet moved there was an accurate location via TA





Quasar Cannon on blasted TWO for 68184 points (atm
Quasar Cannon on DESTROYED TWO
TWO's ship just exploded into a brilliant fireball!


On THIRD POD FOR THE DAY

_________________
Coconut Telegraph (ICQ)#586137616
Team Speak3@ 220.244.125.70:9987
Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Winner of Gridwars 2010 - Ka Pla
Image
Jesus wounldn't Subspace Crawl


Last edited by Parrothead on Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:45 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Cannon bug
Parrothead wrote:
In reproducing this event.

1)Pod gave another sector location via TA (so it knew where it was SUPPOSED to go)

2)No landing message seen from cit

3)No pod warps out message either

4)No lifts off message when pods lifts upon hitting space or enter

5)After planet moved there was an accurate location via TA


1) Hrm. Didn't test that. Good to know.

2) The landing message occurs after getting past shields, it's been
this way for a long time. So that's consistent, if a bit buggy.

3) We had a warps out message...

Quote:
Grid Dupe warps into the sector.
Quasar Cannon on . blasted Grid Dupe for 2000000 points (atmos)
Quasar Cannon on . DESTROYED Grid Dupe
Grid Dupe's ship just exploded into a brilliant fireball!
Grid Dupe warps out of the sector.


Right there. That was from the planet owner's perspective. They
landed, blasted, warped out... except they didn't actually warp
out.

4) Yeh, same deal. Kind of complicates the matter a little, too.

5) Was this before or after they cleared the pause and lifted?

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:51 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1722
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Cannon bug
I tedited planet under DUPE

I manually landed dupe with a "L" only (no scanner)...(a macro'd L plant# *) would clear pause


Quasar Cannon on DESTROYED TWO

was last message

No Fireball or Warpout message.



For comp..did an exit enter sector kill

TWO exits the game.
TWO enters the game.
Limpet mine in 2711 activated
Quasar Cannon on blasted TWO for 56186 points (sect)
Quasar Cannon on DESTROYED TWO
TWO's ship just exploded into a brilliant fireball!
TWO warps out of the sector.


Pod took off as normal.


Third Kill gave a Fireball message and knocked him out of game

_________________
Coconut Telegraph (ICQ)#586137616
Team Speak3@ 220.244.125.70:9987
Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Winner of Gridwars 2010 - Ka Pla
Image
Jesus wounldn't Subspace Crawl


Sat Oct 23, 2010 5:03 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Cannon bug
Seems like I dealt with this before in relation to fighters. There's a pause when you're battling fighters, but if you get repelled by fighters, it skips the pause. Should I do the same thing here, just skip the pause if you get repelled by Quasar Cannon? That'd be easy.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:29 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.