View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Aug 24, 2019 6:55 am



Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
 New Cit level 
Author Message
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1722
Location: USA
Unread post Re: New Cit level
Singularity wrote:
Why not just have certain special ships available randomly, ie:
someone sold one to dock or something?

You'd have a server side script that would enable one of, say,
50 shiptypes at random. Then once sold, it would mark that
as unavailable again, or you could do 1 special type per day
and change daily. Either could be done easily via server-side
script.


You need to restart the server to make ships available/unavailable.

_________________
Coconut Telegraph (ICQ)#586137616
Team Speak3@ 220.244.125.70:9987
Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Winner of Gridwars 2010 - Ka Pla
Image
Jesus wounldn't Subspace Crawl


Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:47 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: New Cit level
Parrothead wrote:
You need to restart the server to make ships available/unavailable.


No you don't, I just tested this. If you set the ship as "manual
deployment" and then save the record, you can no longer buy
it at stardock. You can then set it back to general deployment
and save the record and it shows back up.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Sat Nov 06, 2010 10:40 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 2:00 am
Posts: 1800
Location: Outer Rims
Unread post Re: New Cit level
Singularity wrote:
Parrothead wrote:
You need to restart the server to make ships available/unavailable.


No you don't, I just tested this. If you set the ship as "manual
deployment" and then save the record, you can no longer buy
it at stardock. You can then set it back to general deployment
and save the record and it shows back up.


On the version of the TWGS we have here, we can set the ship to manual or general . But if the Active flag is set to Yes/No, we have to stop the server to change that. Can you confirm this on your version of the TWGS as well?

_________________
-Thrawn

But risk has always been an inescapable part of warfare.

--

Knight to Queen's Bishop 3


Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:47 am
Profile
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: New Cit level
Thrawn wrote:
On the version of the TWGS we have here, we can set the ship to manual or general . But if the Active flag is set to Yes/No, we have to stop the server to change that. Can you confirm this on your version of the TWGS as well?


You don't have to activate/deactivate to make it unbuyable
at stardock. Just switch to manual deployment and it goes
poof.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:59 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 2:00 am
Posts: 1800
Location: Outer Rims
Unread post Re: New Cit level
Singularity wrote:
Thrawn wrote:
On the version of the TWGS we have here, we can set the ship to manual or general . But if the Active flag is set to Yes/No, we have to stop the server to change that. Can you confirm this on your version of the TWGS as well?


You don't have to activate/deactivate to make it unbuyable
at stardock. Just switch to manual deployment and it goes
poof.


Yes, I realize that. Sorry, my question may not have been clear. At the end of summer, we were testing the TWGS and have a version where the mail was fixed, and a bunch of global settings were changed to local (v1.04.09). I was curious to know since we can rebang and add games without stopping the server, is the ship/planet/alien active flag setting still require the server to be shut down first or will that get changed so one does not have to stop the server? I don't know how many versions behind we're at, so I was curious if that particular setting has changed or will change/remain as is.

_________________
-Thrawn

But risk has always been an inescapable part of warfare.

--

Knight to Queen's Bishop 3


Sun Nov 07, 2010 8:38 am
Profile
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: New Cit level
Oh, I don't know. I don't run the beta, and won't until the bugs
are worked out enough to provide a smooth experience. We had
a lot of problems in HHT that could be attributed to the beta, so
we're not there yet.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:27 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 2:00 am
Posts: 1800
Location: Outer Rims
Unread post Re: New Cit level
Singularity wrote:
Oh, I don't know. I don't run the beta, and won't until the bugs
are worked out enough to provide a smooth experience. We had
a lot of problems in HHT that could be attributed to the beta, so
we're not there yet.


Yes, from taking time to catch up on my reading, seems there are a lot of issues. I guess my wife and I are lucky with the version we have. Having the stable version of the TWGS that allows us to rebang games without shutting down the server and some settings moved from global to local works out for us. I do know that the version we have had no fixes/changes to the actual game except the mail function was switched so we no longer have the bloated twmail.dat file issues. Looks like we will stay with our version and be happy.

Thanks for bringing me up to speed Sing.

_________________
-Thrawn

But risk has always been an inescapable part of warfare.

--

Knight to Queen's Bishop 3


Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:52 am
Profile
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1722
Location: USA
Unread post Re: New Cit level
Singularity wrote:
Thrawn wrote:
On the version of the TWGS we have here, we can set the ship to manual or general . But if the Active flag is set to Yes/No, we have to stop the server to change that. Can you confirm this on your version of the TWGS as well?


You don't have to activate/deactivate to make it unbuyable
at stardock. Just switch to manual deployment and it goes
poof.


I will try that. I got a message when Trying to activate from Tedit ship editor. I was trying to put a player in a ship not available from dock

_________________
Coconut Telegraph (ICQ)#586137616
Team Speak3@ 220.244.125.70:9987
Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Winner of Gridwars 2010 - Ka Pla
Image
Jesus wounldn't Subspace Crawl


Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:06 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: New Cit level
@Thrawn, there are just too many hooks into the ships, aliens and planets to allow them to be hot-toggled. But you can set a particular game to inactive, then toggle active/inactive. You don't need to drop the entire server to do this.

I really like the idea of a shipyard Citadel level. If I understand the request right, it's actually not that difficult. Allowing players to build ships would be trivial. As far as upgrading ships, the ship type would define a set of hardware items supported by a ship "out of the box", but then an "upgrade" feature would allow you to add any other type of hardware support to any ship for a price. All it would take is a flag on the ship record that indicates what hardware items that ship supports, and it would default to the set of hardware supported by the ship type as defined in the Gold editors (or stock defaults). From that base set of hardware, you could add to and take away. The one thing I'd probably want to add to the ship type data would be a "hard points" or some other commodity that would determine how much capacity you have to upgrade, so you'd have to make choices (drop some hold space for something else, etc).

This is definitely doable. I could have such a system implemented in an hour, I think. The hard part would be coding the new citadel level, with menus to support ship building and upgrading. Of course, I really see this as being more of a v4 type of addition. I will definitely keep it in mind.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:05 am
Profile WWW
Immortal Op

Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 9:04 am
Posts: 143
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Unread post Re: New Cit level
John Pritchett wrote:
@Thrawn, there are just too many hooks into the ships, aliens and planets to allow them to be hot-toggled. But you can set a particular game to inactive, then toggle active/inactive. You don't need to drop the entire server to do this.

I really like the idea of a shipyard Citadel level. If I understand the request right, it's actually not that difficult. Allowing players to build ships would be trivial. As far as upgrading ships, the ship type would define a set of hardware items supported by a ship "out of the box", but then an "upgrade" feature would allow you to add any other type of hardware support to any ship for a price. All it would take is a flag on the ship record that indicates what hardware items that ship supports, and it would default to the set of hardware supported by the ship type as defined in the Gold editors (or stock defaults). From that base set of hardware, you could add to and take away. The one thing I'd probably want to add to the ship type data would be a "hard points" or some other commodity that would determine how much capacity you have to upgrade, so you'd have to make choices (drop some hold space for something else, etc).

This is definitely doable. I could have such a system implemented in an hour, I think. The hard part would be coding the new citadel level, with menus to support ship building and upgrading. Of course, I really see this as being more of a v4 type of addition. I will definitely keep it in mind.


:mrgreen:

_________________
Stoneslinger
http://theswampbbs.net
telnet://theswampbbs.net


Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:50 am
Profile WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 2:00 am
Posts: 1800
Location: Outer Rims
Unread post Re: New Cit level
John Pritchett wrote:
@Thrawn, there are just too many hooks into the ships, aliens and planets to allow them to be hot-toggled. But you can set a particular game to inactive, then toggle active/inactive. You don't need to drop the entire server to do this.



Noted. I forgot that if no one is in the game and the Aliens are set to "sleeping", I can change the active flag on a ship/planet. If a player is in the game and the aliens are moving, I have to make the game inactive first.

Works for me :) Thanks John.

_________________
-Thrawn

But risk has always been an inescapable part of warfare.

--

Knight to Queen's Bishop 3


Thu Nov 11, 2010 4:14 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.