View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Apr 03, 2020 3:35 pm



Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 bigbang takes 100% CPU 
Author Message
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 886
Location: USA
Unread post bigbang takes 100% CPU
big-bang takes 100% CPU. normally this is not a big deal because you have to take the server offline to perform big-bangs. however, now that twgs allows big-bang while other games are active, performing a big-bang effectively lags out the players in other games.

_________________
twgs : telnet://twgs.thereverend.org:5023
web : http://www.thereverend.org
games : http://www.thestardock.com/twgssearch/i ... verend.org
helper : http://svn.thereverend.org:8080/revhelper/


Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:13 pm
Profile
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: bigbang takes 100% CPU
Multi-core CPU, ftw

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Wed Dec 29, 2010 9:27 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 886
Location: USA
Unread post Re: bigbang takes 100% CPU
Singularity wrote:
Multi-core CPU, ftw

yeah i don't have a multi-core cpu on my twgs, but even so, have you tried a big-bang with live games and did you confirm that a different core was chosen to do the work? i'm betting that it makes the problem worse than a single core.

say you have 10 players in a single game and 2 cores. 5 players' TW2002 processes are served by core A, and the other 5 by core B. then you perform a big-bang on a new game. core B is chosen by the OS to do the big-bang, and is pegged at 100% for 90 seconds. for those 90 seconds, 5 players on core B are lagged out, but the other 5 players (on core A) are not. 5 players have a serious advantage for 90 seconds. call it luck of the draw, but i guarantee you get complaints if players suffer in-game consequences.

_________________
twgs : telnet://twgs.thereverend.org:5023
web : http://www.thereverend.org
games : http://www.thestardock.com/twgssearch/i ... verend.org
helper : http://svn.thereverend.org:8080/revhelper/


Wed Dec 29, 2010 9:46 pm
Profile
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: bigbang takes 100% CPU
the reverend wrote:
yeah i don't have a multi-core cpu on my twgs, but even so, have you tried a big-bang with live games and did you confirm that a different core was chosen to do the work? i'm betting that it makes the problem worse than a single core.


Not currently running the beta, but it's relatively easy to
peg the CPU at a 100% on one node. Hyper-threading
and multi-core setups make a huge different there. It's
very noticeable.

the reverend wrote:
say you have 10 players in a single game and 2 cores. 5 players' TW2002 processes are served by core A, and the other 5 by core B. then you perform a big-bang on a new game. core B is chosen by the OS to do the big-bang, and is pegged at 100% for 90 seconds. for those 90 seconds, 5 players on core B are lagged out, but the other 5 players (on core A) are not. 5 players have a serious advantage for 90 seconds. call it luck of the draw, but i guarantee you get complaints if players suffer in-game consequences.


Right, it schedules the core with the lowest load first,
generally. So it would pick the lowest used core, and
bang on that. For those 90 seconds, the players on
core B would be lagged. The other 5 players would be
better off, but not perfectly fine. Any IO will still leak
across to other cores. I'm skeptical you'd see a
major advantage.

The players could always log out and back in to get
a new core if it was a serious problem. Or maybe
there's a way to re-assign the threads as they're
running.

When I was rebanging my test on ctw, I was seeing
some CPU spikes, but not 100% for 90 seconds.

Maybe there's a way to speed up the bang, or spread
it out over multiple threads. Dunno.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:07 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Veteran Op

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 4:04 pm
Posts: 5025
Unread post Re: bigbang takes 100% CPU
It's seems the majority of the CPU is utilized during the max course length process. Maybe a way to slow down the big bang process some might help. It would take longer for big bang to complete, but possibly effect the active games less.


Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:14 pm
Profile
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2059
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: bigbang takes 100% CPU
Tested on my laptop:
AMD Phenom(tm) II N950 Quad-Core Processor 2.10 Ghz
I will retest on the server in the morning it is a AMD Phenom II Quad 3.2

Searching for Unaccessable Clusters 35%

Setting Max Course 33%

_________________
T0yman (Permanently Retired since 2012)
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:04 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Veteran Op

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 4:04 pm
Posts: 5025
Unread post Re: bigbang takes 100% CPU
T0yman wrote:
Tested on my laptop:
AMD Phenom(tm) II N950 Quad-Core Processor 2.10 Ghz
I will retest on the server in the morning it is a AMD Phenom II Quad 3.2

Searching for Unaccessable Clusters 35%

Setting Max Course 33%


Yes, that's about what mine uses, 20% to 40%, but the players do notice that when I'm banging a game they get considerable lag in the games for the duration of the big bang process especially during the last few tasks.


Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:19 pm
Profile
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2059
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: bigbang takes 100% CPU
T0yman wrote:
Tested on my laptop:
AMD Phenom(tm) II N950 Quad-Core Processor 2.10 Ghz
I will retest on the server in the morning it is a AMD Phenom II Quad 3.2

Searching for Unaccessable Clusters 35%

Setting Max Course 33%


Big D wrote:
Yes, that's about what mine uses, 20% to 40%, but the players do notice that when I'm banging a game they get considerable lag in the games for the duration of the big bang process especially during the last few tasks.


I rarely ever rebang on the server for that reason, I usually build the bangs on laptop and move them over. I have a lot of changes I make prior to opening so it is easier to do them on laptop.

_________________
T0yman (Permanently Retired since 2012)
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:24 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 886
Location: USA
Unread post Re: bigbang takes 100% CPU
Big D wrote:
T0yman wrote:
Tested on my laptop:
AMD Phenom(tm) II N950 Quad-Core Processor 2.10 Ghz
I will retest on the server in the morning it is a AMD Phenom II Quad 3.2

Searching for Unaccessable Clusters 35%

Setting Max Course 33%


Yes, that's about what mine uses, 20% to 40%, but the players do notice that when I'm banging a game they get considerable lag in the games for the duration of the big bang process especially during the last few tasks.

if you have a quad-core machine, then 25% utilization means one entire core is at 100%. that's how it's reported. so in toyman's case (35%, quad-core), 100% of one core and 40% of another core is being used during bigbang. not sure how many cores bigd has, but 20-40% utilization is a lot for a multi-core machine.

_________________
twgs : telnet://twgs.thereverend.org:5023
web : http://www.thereverend.org
games : http://www.thestardock.com/twgssearch/i ... verend.org
helper : http://svn.thereverend.org:8080/revhelper/


Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:13 am
Profile
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2059
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: bigbang takes 100% CPU
T0yman wrote:
Tested on my laptop:
AMD Phenom(tm) II N950 Quad-Core Processor 2.10 Ghz
I will retest on the server in the morning it is a AMD Phenom II Quad 3.2

Searching for Unaccessable Clusters 35%

Setting Max Course 33%


Big D wrote:
Yes, that's about what mine uses, 20% to 40%, but the players do notice that when I'm banging a game they get considerable lag in the games for the duration of the big bang process especially during the last few tasks.


the reverend wrote:
if you have a quad-core machine, then 25% utilization means one entire core is at 100%. that's how it's reported. so in toyman's case (35%, quad-core), 100% of one core and 40% of another core is being used during bigbang. not sure how many cores bigd has, but 20-40% utilization is a lot for a multi-core machine.


I watched the 4 bar graphs and the first core never maxed it went to about 60% then the second core went up slightly. Dunno with Microsoft though 66% on the graph could = 100% :)
I re ran and took a few snap shots, the Course Length has more info. I hope this helps. I will try it shortly on the server.
Laptop Running Win7
Attachment:
Idle.jpg
Idle.jpg [ 36.56 KiB | Viewed 3717 times ]

Attachment:
Unaccessable Clusters.jpg
Unaccessable Clusters.jpg [ 42.18 KiB | Viewed 3717 times ]

Attachment:
Course Length.jpg
Course Length.jpg [ 123.14 KiB | Viewed 3717 times ]

_________________
T0yman (Permanently Retired since 2012)
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Last edited by T0yman on Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:37 am, edited 1 time in total.



Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:09 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2059
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: bigbang takes 100% CPU
Server CPU Usage for Big Bang:
Server Running on WinXP Pro
Attachment:
Server_Idle.jpg
Server_Idle.jpg [ 19.47 KiB | Viewed 3714 times ]

Attachment:
Server_BigBang.jpg
Server_BigBang.jpg [ 19.42 KiB | Viewed 3714 times ]

_________________
T0yman (Permanently Retired since 2012)
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:35 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Immortal Op

Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 9:04 am
Posts: 143
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Unread post Re: bigbang takes 100% CPU
Singularity wrote:
Not currently running the beta, but it's relatively easy to
peg the CPU at a 100% on one node. Hyper-threading
and multi-core setups make a huge different there. It's
very noticeable.



Have any of you treid disableing the Hyperthreading? You may get better performance out of twgs v2 as all cpu's would be timed equeally by the OS and not max cpu 1 before the others as when hyperthreading is enabled. I know it sounds crazy but... you may want to try it.

_________________
Stoneslinger
http://theswampbbs.net
telnet://theswampbbs.net


Thu Dec 30, 2010 11:44 am
Profile WWW
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 886
Location: USA
Unread post Re: bigbang takes 100% CPU
interesting stuff. my twgs is an amd k7 1ghz, 256 mb ram. historically, that was more than enough. it seems like other sysops are throwing more hardware at it than me. toyman's big-bang showed ~70% utilization of a single core during big-bang. it's no wonder that big-bang operations required a complete shutdown of the twgs in the past. now that we're able to do big-bang while hosting games simultaneously, perhaps better hardware is warranted.

_________________
twgs : telnet://twgs.thereverend.org:5023
web : http://www.thereverend.org
games : http://www.thestardock.com/twgssearch/i ... verend.org
helper : http://svn.thereverend.org:8080/revhelper/


Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:34 pm
Profile
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2059
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: bigbang takes 100% CPU
I was in the need of a new server, and it was only $400 to go with a Asus MB, Quad 3.2, 4 Gig of Ram and a New P/S. Was only $75 ~ $100 to scale down, figured what's the point I might use it for something else one day. Currently with server side scripts running and 10 people moving it rarely goes over 3% CPU during normal play. And that is with me VNC'd in since I rarely have a monitor hooked up to it.

_________________
T0yman (Permanently Retired since 2012)
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Thu Dec 30, 2010 2:59 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: bigbang takes 100% CPU
I completely missed this thread, but I recognized an issue here myself while banging games on twgs.classictw.com during active play. A few weeks ago, I went in and added a setting (under Global Settings in Command Center) to specify how much CPU Bigbang should use. If you have a single core and set to 50% CPU, then Bigbang only pulls 50% load on the CPU. If you have dual-core or two CPUs, Bigbang runs in a single thread, so it'll pull 25% load. So if you want to let your players play through a bang and don't mind that it'll take awhile, you can set your percentage as low as you feel is needed. Sometimes a lengthy background bang is better than a quick offline bang.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Wed May 18, 2011 11:35 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.