View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Oct 27, 2020 7:21 pm



Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Failed to detect protocol. Expected Telnet... 
Author Message
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:00 am
Posts: 3141
Location: Kansas
Unread post Failed to detect protocol. Expected Telnet...
Trying to connect to a beta server and getting the message below a lot. Using MS telnet because my relog script retries before the message comes across. I am guessing that the lag I am experiencing on the server (300+ ms in game) might have something to do with it.

Failed to detect protocol. Expected Telnet...

Connection to host lost.

_________________
               / Promethius / Enigma / Wolfen /

"A man who has no skills can be taught, a man who has no honor has nothing."


Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:32 pm
Profile ICQ
Veteran Op

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 4:04 pm
Posts: 5025
Unread post Re: Failed to detect protocol. Expected Telnet...
Not necessarily. I've been getting a lot of node errors concerning the beta twgs. Example:

Incorrect caller protocol (Node 5)
Failed to start game session . . .
Terminated unresponsive game (Game A None) [1152]


After these errors occur, the server is still active, but when you try to shut down the server it won't shut down and you have to ALT, CNTL, DEL to stop the unresponsive software.


Sat Jan 01, 2011 11:38 pm
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:00 am
Posts: 3141
Location: Kansas
Unread post Re: Failed to detect protocol. Expected Telnet...
Big D wrote:
Not necessarily. I've been getting a lot of node errors concerning the beta twgs. Example:

Incorrect caller protocol (Node 5)
Failed to start game session . . .
Terminated unresponsive game (Game A None) [1152]


After these errors occur, the server is still active, but when you try to shut down the server it won't shut down and you have to ALT, CNTL, DEL to stop the unresponsive software.


I've probably been sending a lot of those. I just had it happen again, this time I killed my relogger and went manually through SWATH/TWX and still got the same telnet protocol error. The TWGS functions fine for a while, and then seems to bog down.

The relogger seemed to freeze the TWGS up when loading the game (after game select). I would get hung on the pauses and no input would be accepted.

_________________
               / Promethius / Enigma / Wolfen /

"A man who has no skills can be taught, a man who has no honor has nothing."


Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:16 am
Profile ICQ
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Failed to detect protocol. Expected Telnet...
Could you check to see if this is still an issue on the server at twgs.classictw.com?

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Wed May 18, 2011 11:26 pm
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:00 am
Posts: 3141
Location: Kansas
Unread post Re: Failed to detect protocol. Expected Telnet...
John Pritchett wrote:
Could you check to see if this is still an issue on the server at twgs.classictw.com?


I have quit playing the game and only stop by to scan the threads, sorry.

_________________
               / Promethius / Enigma / Wolfen /

"A man who has no skills can be taught, a man who has no honor has nothing."


Thu May 19, 2011 7:44 pm
Profile ICQ
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.