View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:11 pm

Forum rules


This is not an area to debate the pros and cons of proposed features. It is an area for people to suggest new features for either TW or TWGS. I will either add the proposed feature to my planned features list, or explain my reasons for passing on the feature at this time. Features added to the list can be voted on so I can gauge people's interest.



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 Setting up Alien planets. 
Author Message
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1733
Location: USA
Unread post Setting up Alien planets.
Here's an issue I keep running up against with Version 2

I bang a fresh game, and set it to open at a later time.
I used to then go in and edit my alien planets and such to prepare the game.
With V2 the alien planets don't appear till after the game starts.
I guess I can start the game, then make it inactive, and then schedule the start, but this is a PITA.
Any ideas or help in this department?

_________________
American soldiers don't fight because they hate what's in front of them...they fight because they love what's behind them.
http://www.runawayproton.com <-- Expired
telnet://runawayproton.dyndns.org:223 V2.20b Games <-- Expired
http://www.twsubspace.com <-- Expired
Teamspeak 3 50.23.212.53:4196 <-- Expired
Just a has been now.


Sun Mar 18, 2012 6:03 pm
Profile WWW
Commander

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1706
Location: Guam USA
Unread post Re: Setting up Alien planets.
That is what I do , I check mark the disable logins , then open the game for about 20 seconds or so , you can see the busy question mark as each race restarts.

When that all stops I deactivate that game and uncheck mark the disable logins , and Tedit the aliens with the SO_SetAliens script.

Yes , its a bit of a pain but does not stop me.

_________________
TWGS V2 Vids World on Guam Port 2002
Telnet://202.151.82.243:2002
Team Speak3 Servers for TradeWars @
Zoom's Team Speak Server
ts3server://vs26.tserverhq.com:7214 This is where I'm at.

Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Ka Pla
Image

Image
Image


Sun Mar 18, 2012 6:38 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2054
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: Setting up Alien planets.
Sorry but this is not V2 specific, it has always been this way atleast as far as I can remember.

_________________
T0yman
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Sun Mar 18, 2012 7:23 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Setting up Alien planets.
It's something I've given some thought to. One option with the current system is to set a login password so even if the game is online, players can't enter it. Probably the right solution would be to open a game but keep it hidden. Another option might be to keep the game inactive but allow you to run the alien servers. I can definitely see a gameop wanting to have a game fully functional, but hidden from others on his/her server. You can keep players out with a password, but just hiding it would be nice.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Sun Mar 18, 2012 8:58 pm
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:57 am
Posts: 3367
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Unread post Re: Setting up Alien planets.
John Pritchett wrote:
It's something I've given some thought to. One option with the current system is to set a login password so even if the game is online, players can't enter it. Probably the right solution would be to open a game but keep it hidden. Another option might be to keep the game inactive but allow you to run the alien servers. I can definitely see a gameop wanting to have a game fully functional, but hidden from others on his/her server. You can keep players out with a password, but just hiding it would be nice.


I ended up doing that with DESC.ANS, activating the game, messing with it til I was happy then adding the game to the DESC.ANS.

H

_________________
Helix
Do I really look like a guy with a plan? You know what I am? I'm a dog chasing cars.
Getting (re)started in TradeWars? Time to update the package, its been 3 years.
Lest we forget


Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:30 pm
Profile WWW
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1733
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Setting up Alien planets.
John Pritchett wrote:
It's something I've given some thought to. One option with the current system is to set a login password so even if the game is online, players can't enter it. Probably the right solution would be to open a game but keep it hidden. Another option might be to keep the game inactive but allow you to run the alien servers. I can definitely see a gameop wanting to have a game fully functional, but hidden from others on his/her server. You can keep players out with a password, but just hiding it would be nice.


All this would take is a setting that when you select a delayed start, it would run the alien serves for about a minute, then deactivate and wait for the desired time.

_________________
American soldiers don't fight because they hate what's in front of them...they fight because they love what's behind them.
http://www.runawayproton.com <-- Expired
telnet://runawayproton.dyndns.org:223 V2.20b Games <-- Expired
http://www.twsubspace.com <-- Expired
Teamspeak 3 50.23.212.53:4196 <-- Expired
Just a has been now.


Tue Mar 20, 2012 7:29 pm
Profile WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Setting up Alien planets.
Yeah, I just think there needs to be a way to have a game fully functional without being available to players. There are a number of ways a gameop might use that kind of feature, not just to initialize an alien race.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Tue Mar 20, 2012 11:17 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.