[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/session.php on line 1024: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/functions.php:3706)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4505: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/functions.php:3706)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4507: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/functions.php:3706)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4508: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/functions.php:3706)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4509: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/functions.php:3706)
www.ClassicTW.com - View topic - Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's?
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Jul 23, 2019 10:01 pm



Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
 Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's? 
Author Message
Gunnery Sergeant

Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 25
Location: Vermont, USA
Unread post Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's?
Short and Sweet:

Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's like Windows 8.1?

Lengthy Version:

I'm currently upgrading my ESXi Virtualization Server at home, and am just wrapping up migrating my old Virtual Machines to the New Server.

The New Server supports significantly more RAM so I was wondering if anyone had hosted TW on a more modern OS as I've been running it on Windows XP SP3 x86 on 2GB of RAM. Given Windows XP is dead in the eyes of MS and new vulnerabilities being found all the time it makes me consider a newer OS for security reasons.

I have no real issue with continuing to run Windows XP as I'm currently re-configuring all my security policies to only allow Telnet and remote administrative connection to the VM. So that really reduces any real security concern, I just wanted to raise the question as I have a large number of Windows 8.1 Enterprise Licenses at my disposal that I plan to use for upgrading other VM's that require much more openness to the net.

Some searching around didn't seem to turn up any topics on the subject, so I figured no place better to raise the question then here. If no one knows I can always reach out to John.

_________________
Respectfully,
AidanTheEnforcer/GreenMountainHunter

v2.2b Server :
TeamSpeak3 : TS3.StevensComputerService.com
FaceBook :


Mon Apr 04, 2016 6:47 pm
Profile WWW
Commander

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1793
Location: Guam USA
Unread post Re: Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's?
I am currently running on an XP box , but I know of many running on 8.1 and Win 10 as well.

As far as I know , no one has any new issues to date.
So you should be ok .. I'd say 'Go for it' and give it a try and report anything you find back here , if anything.

Vid

_________________
TWGS V2 Port 2002
Telnet://202.151.82.243:2002
Coconut Telegraph (ICQ)# 14340614
Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Winners of Gridwars 2010 - Ka Pla
Image

Image
Image

The Oldist , Longist Running , Orginal Registered Owner of a TWGS server :
Vids World On Guam


Last edited by Vid Kid on Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Mon Apr 04, 2016 9:58 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 2201
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's?
Although I run on server 2008, which shares the same codebase as Windows 7, there are no know issues with Windows 10. I would recommend turing UAC off, because Windows 10 will move your game data to a weird location if you don't.

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

Do not try and bend the spoon. That’s impossible.
Instead… only try to realize there is no spoon.


Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:09 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Commander

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1793
Location: Guam USA
Unread post Re: Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's?

_________________
TWGS V2 Port 2002
Telnet://202.151.82.243:2002
Coconut Telegraph (ICQ)# 14340614
Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Winners of Gridwars 2010 - Ka Pla
Image

Image
Image

The Oldist , Longist Running , Orginal Registered Owner of a TWGS server :
Vids World On Guam


Tue Apr 05, 2016 10:50 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Gunnery Sergeant

Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 25
Location: Vermont, USA
Unread post Re: Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's?
Alright I'll look at deploying a Windows 8.1 VM. Still have to catch up with JP about getting the V1 licensing as I'm looking to host both V1 and V2 since I now have the hardware to host both.


@Vid I still want to eventually catch up with you again. Finally getting myself back together after that motorcycle adventure I had a few years back.

_________________
Respectfully,
AidanTheEnforcer/GreenMountainHunter

v2.2b Server :
TeamSpeak3 : TS3.StevensComputerService.com
FaceBook :


Tue Apr 05, 2016 5:05 pm
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 2201
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's?

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

Do not try and bend the spoon. That’s impossible.
Instead… only try to realize there is no spoon.


Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:33 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Lance Corporal

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:55 am
Posts: 4
Unread post Re: Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's?
Rather than start a new thread, I have a similar question. I have a choice of running TWGS on Windows Server 2008, 2012, or 2016. Is there a preference? Does it matter?

Thanks.


Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:46 am
Profile
Online
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 3866
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's?

_________________
Image
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
Big Game 2016 Champs: Draft team
2018 HHT Champs: Rock Stars


Classic Style Games Here:
telnet://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2002

Web page from 1990's: https://web.archive.org/web/20170103155 ... adewar.htm
Blog with current server info: http://cruncherstw.blogspot.com
E-mail: Cruncherstw@gmail.com
FaceBook: http://www.facebook.com/CrunchersTW


Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:06 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 2201
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's?

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

Do not try and bend the spoon. That’s impossible.
Instead… only try to realize there is no spoon.


Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:33 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Lieutenant Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 11:28 pm
Posts: 977
Location: Rural Indiana
Unread post Re: Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's?

_________________
Star Killer
USA(RETIRED)
Loyalty Above All Else Except Honor
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
2015 Lottery Tournament Winning Team Member
2016 Big Game Draft Tournament Winning Team Member
HHT 2016 Champs: Cloud09

Star Killer's Ice9 TWGS
Viper's Pit V1 TWGS
Website: http://sk-twgs.com
ts3server://sk-twgs.com My TeamSpeak Server(I'm Almost never there)
ts3server://ts.microblaster.net Micro's TeamSpeak Server(Where you can normally find me)
Email: starkillerstwgs@yahoo.com
ICQ: 693542389
Ice 9 V2 TWGS: SK-TWGS.COM PORT 2002
Viper's Pit V1 TWGS: V1.SK-TWGS.COM PORT 2002
Now The Fastest TWGS in the West
https://www.facebook.com/StarKillersTradeWars/
To help offset the server(s) hosting bill donate via PayPal to: starkillerstwgs@yahoo.com


Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:28 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Lance Corporal

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:55 am
Posts: 4
Unread post Re: Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's?


Mon Jan 08, 2018 12:53 pm
Profile
Lieutenant Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 11:28 pm
Posts: 977
Location: Rural Indiana
Unread post Re: Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's?

_________________
Star Killer
USA(RETIRED)
Loyalty Above All Else Except Honor
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
2015 Lottery Tournament Winning Team Member
2016 Big Game Draft Tournament Winning Team Member
HHT 2016 Champs: Cloud09

Star Killer's Ice9 TWGS
Viper's Pit V1 TWGS
Website: http://sk-twgs.com
ts3server://sk-twgs.com My TeamSpeak Server(I'm Almost never there)
ts3server://ts.microblaster.net Micro's TeamSpeak Server(Where you can normally find me)
Email: starkillerstwgs@yahoo.com
ICQ: 693542389
Ice 9 V2 TWGS: SK-TWGS.COM PORT 2002
Viper's Pit V1 TWGS: V1.SK-TWGS.COM PORT 2002
Now The Fastest TWGS in the West
https://www.facebook.com/StarKillersTradeWars/
To help offset the server(s) hosting bill donate via PayPal to: starkillerstwgs@yahoo.com


Fri Apr 13, 2018 12:24 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 10:49 pm
Posts: 10
Unread post Re: Can TradeWars be hosted on Newer OS's?
I'm currently Hosting on a Windows 7 Pro

_________________
216.47.221.101:2002

Current Hosted Games:
Banged 5/15
Game A Classic 30K sectors, unlimited turns
Game B Star Trek 20K Sectors, 15K Turns
Game T Testing for scripts

*Will bang custom games on request

Image


Tue May 15, 2018 12:14 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.