View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Mar 26, 2017 5:52 pm



Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
 Best way to build planet shields on L5/L6 planets? 
Author Message
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 9:24 pm
Posts: 12
Unread post Best way to build planet shields on L5/L6 planets?
I have a ZOC script that works very nicely for automating the process of building up planet shields, but just discovered a serious problem: While it is possible to Warp an L5 or L6 planet to Alpha Centauri or Rylos, and run the script to buy/dump shields and figs, IF something goes wrong, like your Internet service goes down while the script is running, and you can't log back in right away, you will LOSE THAT PLANET if it is still at the Class 0 port at Extern. It looks like the Feds knock the Citadel back to L2 during the "Search for Heavily Armed Players in Fedspace" , and that's it. Your planet is now stuck there permanently and is completely defenseless. As far as I can determine, there's no way to ever move the planet again, because to move it, it has to be L4, but every time it builds back up to L3, the Feds will kick it back to L2 at Extern. So this is far too risky a way to get shields onto a planet. What's the most turn-efficient way that doesn't put the planet itself at risk? I assume it would be to use an ISS or CF. Use the Transport Pad in the citadel to get to SD, buy a load of shields, Twarp back to the planet, dump the shields, and repeat, right? Is there any more efficient way I am not thinking of? Thanks.

I knew the Feds clean out Sector Figs in the MSL's at Extern, but I had no idea they also knock out armed planets, too , even those belong to Blue players :( . The game is v3.34b Gold (non-MBBS).


Thu Aug 18, 2016 3:54 am
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 3622
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Best way to build planet shields on L5/L6 planets?
ctsurv553 wrote:
I have a ZOC script that works very nicely for automating the process of building up planet shields, but just discovered a serious problem: While it is possible to Warp an L5 or L6 planet to Alpha Centauri or Rylos, and run the script to buy/dump shields and figs, IF something goes wrong, like your Internet service goes down while the script is running, and you can't log back in right away, you will LOSE THAT PLANET if it is still at the Class 0 port at Extern. It looks like the Feds knock the Citadel back to L2 during the "Search for Heavily Armed Players in Fedspace" , and that's it. Your planet is now stuck there permanently and is completely defenseless. As far as I can determine, there's no way to ever move the planet again, because to move it, it has to be L4, but every time it builds back up to L3, the Feds will kick it back to L2 at Extern. So this is far too risky a way to get shields onto a planet. What's the most turn-efficient way that doesn't put the planet itself at risk? I assume it would be to use an ISS or CF. Use the Transport Pad in the citadel to get to SD, buy a load of shields, Twarp back to the planet, dump the shields, and repeat, right? Is there any more efficient way I am not thinking of? Thanks.

I knew the Feds clean out Sector Figs in the MSL's at Extern, but I had no idea they also knock out armed planets, too , even those belong to Blue players :( . The game is v3.34b Gold (non-MBBS).


Yeap, this is true and has been forever. Warping your planet to a Zero port is still the most efficient way to buy shields. Some players have modified their colonizing macros/scripts to buy shields when they grab colos. You may want to try that.

_________________
Image
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
Big Game 2016 Champs: Draft team


Classic Style Games Here:
telnet://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2002

flash client: http://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2004/PlayTW.html
Web page from 1990's: http://tradewars.fament.com/Cruncher/tradewar.htm
Blog with current server info: http://cruncherstw.blogspot.com
E-mail: Cruncherstw@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/CrunchersTW


Thu Aug 18, 2016 7:44 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1792
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Best way to build planet shields on L5/L6 planets?
You could also move the planet near one of the class 0 ports. Just make sure it isn't in an MSL.

You also have to watch your pdrop scripts. Your opponent could hit one of your figs next to an MSL right before extern and then invade your helpless planet right after extern.

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS1.03/TW3.13: telnet://twgs.twfm.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Thu Aug 18, 2016 9:17 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.