www.ClassicTW.com
https://classictw.com/

TWGS 1.03-> 2.20b
https://classictw.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=35801
Page 1 of 1

Author:  JohnBWilloughby [ Fri Mar 26, 2021 1:02 am ]
Post subject:  TWGS 1.03-> 2.20b

Hello,
Not sure if this is the right place, but currently I am running TradeWars Game Server on my bulletin board system, and I am in the process of moving to a new OS, and I figured now would be a good time to upgrade to a more current version. I am running ver 1.03 and I see on here that 2.20b is available.

Can I upgrade from v1.03 straight to v2.20b ? And will all my registration codes work in the new version ?

And once I am up to the most current version, how would I join it in so it shows up in the server list ?

Thanks for any help.

____________________
John Willoughby aka Tempest Fury
Tempest Fury BBS

Author:  Star Killer [ Mon Mar 29, 2021 10:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: TWGS 1.03-> 2.20b

JohnBWilloughby wrote:
Hello,
Not sure if this is the right place, but currently I am running TradeWars Game Server on my bulletin board system, and I am in the process of moving to a new OS, and I figured now would be a good time to upgrade to a more current version. I am running ver 1.03 and I see on here that 2.20b is available.

Can I upgrade from v1.03 straight to v2.20b ? And will all my registration codes work in the new version ?

And once I am up to the most current version, how would I join it in so it shows up in the server list ?

Thanks for any help.


____________________
John Willoughby aka Tempest Fury
Tempest Fury BBS

If memory servers there is a cost to upgrading to V2.
You'll need to contact JP at jpritch@eisonline.com and get V2 codes. it may take him a little bit, but he will get back to you... thanks...

-sk

Author:  JohnBWilloughby [ Tue Mar 30, 2021 11:43 am ]
Post subject:  Re: TWGS 1.03-> 2.20b

Well I went and ran the 2.20b install, all my codes are still there and it seems to be running fine. Even the Gold codes I had are showing up.

Now when I go to the TradeWars Alien Manager, I see that it says there are NO active Gold Alien Races. Set race to active in TEDIT, Gold Alien Editor

The only TEDIT i see is in the ..\EIS\TWGS\Game folder, and it will not run by either clicking on it or running it in a command prompt. -- figured this one out , have to telnet in on the admin port and log in as admin :)

Can the Gold Alien Races only be active during the big bang ?

Author:  Star Killer [ Wed Mar 31, 2021 10:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: TWGS 1.03-> 2.20b

JohnBWilloughby wrote:
Well I went and ran the 2.20b install, all my codes are still there and it seems to be running fine. Even the Gold codes I had are showing up.

Now when I go to the TradeWars Alien Manager, I see that it says there are NO active Gold Alien Races. Set race to active in TEDIT, Gold Alien Editor

The only TEDIT i see is in the ..\EIS\TWGS\Game folder, and it will not run by either clicking on it or running it in a command prompt. -- figured this one out , have to telnet in on the admin port and log in as admin :)

Can the Gold Alien Races only be active during the big bang ?


as far as i know tedit only works from the command center tab. Yes you have to enable gold features in big bang.

-sk

Author:  JohnBWilloughby [ Thu Apr 01, 2021 2:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: TWGS 1.03-> 2.20b

I figured out how to get into TEDIT, its been quite a few years since I have done this. So I telnet'ed to the Admin port, used the admin password, and was able to get into settings. Hopefully this time I will remember it for next time.

I guess I will have to create a new game and during the big bang enable the Gold Aliens. Its always good to have more games.

Thanks

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/