View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Mar 25, 2017 4:42 am



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Migrating server to a new computer 
Author Message
1st Sergeant

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:00 am
Posts: 31
Location: USA
Unread post Migrating server to a new computer
I am soon to get a new computer to run my TWGS on. Is there an easy way to migrate all the data from my old server to the new one or would it be easier just to rebang all the games and start fresh?
Thanks,
Zircon


Mon Aug 08, 2016 9:11 pm
Profile
Commander

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1701
Location: Guam USA
Unread post Re: Migrating server to a new computer
After you have registered the new TWGS on your new server , make the
game entries in the command menu for each of your games.
Then it should be easy to copy your old EIS directories over to the new
system and start your server back up on the new one.

Good luck and post your games for all to play.

Vid Kid/CareTaker

_________________
TWGS V2 Vids World on Guam Port 2002
Telnet://202.151.82.243:2002
Team Speak3 Servers for TradeWars @
Zoom's Team Speak Server
ts3server://vs26.tserverhq.com:7214 This is where I'm at.
Micro's Team Speak Server
ts3server://ts.microblaster.net
Archys Portal Teamspeak Server
ts3server://60.242.57.40

Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Ka Pla
Image

Image
Image


Mon Aug 08, 2016 11:14 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1792
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Migrating server to a new computer
Make sure you games on the old server are in a deactivated state before you shut down the server. Create new blank games, and also make sure to deactivate them. Then you can copy the data over.

If you have more than a few games, you might want to copy the registry from the old machine to the new one. The registry key contains all the game names and locations in addition to other settings:

HKLM\Software\Wow6432Node\Epic Interactive Strategy\Trade Wars Game Server

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS1.03/TW3.13: telnet://twgs.twfm.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Tue Aug 09, 2016 8:55 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
1st Sergeant

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:00 am
Posts: 31
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Migrating server to a new computer
Thank you very much for the help.....migration was seamless. Very easy to follow instructions. Only took a couple hours and mostly cause I was taking it slow trying to make sure I didn't miss anything.
New server is much quicker and MUCH more reliable. Hope to draw some new players in .
Address is
telnet://thequesttwgs.game-host.org/ Port 23
If anyone would like games banged or ideas for modifications would be glad to hear.
Email address is thequesttwgs@gmail.com


Thu Aug 18, 2016 8:17 pm
Profile
Commander

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1701
Location: Guam USA
Unread post Re: Migrating server to a new computer
zircon wrote:
Thank you very much for the help.....migration was seamless. Very easy to follow instructions. Only took a couple hours and mostly cause I was taking it slow trying to make sure I didn't miss anything.
New server is much quicker and MUCH more reliable. Hope to draw some new players in .
Address is
telnet://thequesttwgs.game-host.org/ Port 23
If anyone would like games banged or ideas for modifications would be glad to hear.
Email address is thequesttwgs@gmail.com



A note on the side , if you used port 2002 for the server you may get less traffic (the unwanted ones) from china I think , trying to overload your server.
This happened on a couple of servers already in the near past.

I will come take a look-see what you have good luck and nice to see more servers coming up.

Be sure to register it with Micro's search engine and the Jump game connection.

Vid Kid/CareTaker

_________________
TWGS V2 Vids World on Guam Port 2002
Telnet://202.151.82.243:2002
Team Speak3 Servers for TradeWars @
Zoom's Team Speak Server
ts3server://vs26.tserverhq.com:7214 This is where I'm at.
Micro's Team Speak Server
ts3server://ts.microblaster.net
Archys Portal Teamspeak Server
ts3server://60.242.57.40

Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Ka Pla
Image

Image
Image


Mon Aug 22, 2016 1:01 am
Profile ICQ WWW
1st Sergeant

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:00 am
Posts: 31
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Migrating server to a new computer
Thanks again..
Side topic...I have tried multiple times to be added to the Sysop group here but my messages look like they go through fine BUT all still sit in my OUTBOX. Have attempted this many times for more than a year.
Here is the message I keep trying to send

Please add me to the Sysop group so I can post game info.
Server is ZQuest
Address is thequesttwgs.game-host.org:23
Currently running 14 different games. I RECENTLY upgraded my server as it had been very laggy for the last year or 2. Running GREAT now and would really like to attract more traffic.
Thanks
Z


Tue Aug 23, 2016 6:58 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.