View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:11 pm



Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Local Connection 
Author Message
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 11:46 pm
Posts: 19
Unread post Local Connection
Up to this point, I've been logging into my local game (which I keep rebanging with different settings and stuff) through the Tradewars Command Center (play button). I just installed SWATH (I wonder if it's possible for me to "register" it with swath.net nonexistent) so I could get a good look at the maps that are being generated. But I can't seem to connect to my server. My guess is that I need to connect to 192.168.0.2 on port 23... but that doesn't seem to work. Any ideas?


Wed May 29, 2013 1:08 am
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1868
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Local Connection
Try local loopback: 127.0.0.1

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Wed May 29, 2013 1:18 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 11:46 pm
Posts: 19
Unread post Re: Local Connection
That doesn't seem to work, either.


Wed May 29, 2013 8:11 am
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1868
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Local Connection
Do you have you IP Addr is server settings set to "Auto"?

Are there any binding errors on the Log screen?

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Wed May 29, 2013 9:13 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Chief Warrant Officer

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:22 am
Posts: 118
Unread post Re: Local Connection
Are you using TWX-Proxy? I am running my own game, which somehow became very boring very quickly. TWX-P is set to 127.0.0.1:23 and SWATH is set to localhost:2002.


Wed May 29, 2013 1:59 pm
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 3658
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Local Connection
Grey Gamer wrote:
Are you using TWX-Proxy? I am running my own game, which somehow became very boring very quickly. TWX-P is set to 127.0.0.1:23 and SWATH is set to localhost:2002.



127.0.0.1 and localhost are the same thing.
Sort of like an IP address is the numeric equivalent of a URL, web address.

After the colon: is the port number, those must be the same.

_________________
Image
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
Big Game 2016 Champs: Draft team


Classic Style Games Here:
telnet://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2002

flash client: http://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2004/PlayTW.html
Web page from 1990's: http://tradewars.fament.com/Cruncher/tradewar.htm
Blog with current server info: http://cruncherstw.blogspot.com
E-mail: Cruncherstw@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/CrunchersTW


Wed May 29, 2013 2:16 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Commander

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1707
Location: Guam USA
Unread post Re: Local Connection
I have been cleaning up troubles from a handful of players ..
seems someone is teaching how to install twx proxy
(the blind leading the blind).
To properly install software , let its installer choose the path or it must go into the Root directory structure :
C:/ directory style , not on the desktop , the desktop is for short cuts.
That leads to bigger problems.

I suggest C:/DownLoads for anything you download
and C:/UnZipped for anything you unzip.
So TWX would probably end up in C:/UnZipped/TWX_Proxy

Post Setting up Swath & TWX
I use Swath and TWX , so this is my setups.
This will make the transaction for Swath users that much easier.

Start both TWX & Swath , now every game you play you will need
to make a database .. one in Swath and one for Twx.
Use identical names (eg. VidsB : server name and game letter)

Swath will store This info normally in My Documents directory.
Twx will store it in twx/data.

Ok , Now lets setup ..

In Swath .. Each new game I have to set these (they default to other settings)

in Game Options :
Game ID --- make sure it is not set (not needed if using Twx anyways)
Hostname/IP Actual game Server address
Port Actual game Server port
Username or Password Leave blank
Sectors: (game max sectors)

Auto Login: NO <-- this is important
Run init script UN-CHECK <-- also important

Game Proxy settings <--- the MAIN change
Hostname/IP : localhost and Port 6060 (this will be twx's listening port)


So Twx scripts don't conflict with Swath
In Game Options / Miscellaneous
turn Haggle Setting OFF
Under Preferences / General
turn TransWarp when ready OFF (uncheck)

Ok , done here ..

Lets SetUp TWX now ...

Right click the icon in tool bar .. setup/program tab
first listening port is defaulted to 23
change this to = 6060 (needs to be different for each swath/twx combo pair
can be 6060,6061,6062 etc.)
Then check only these settings on this page :
Broadcast ...
Cache ....
Then go to server Tab
Add to make a DataBase
Fill in name of game (database to match swath one)
server address (real one)
port (real server port)
sectors = Max Game Sectors.
check Use login script
for now leave as is (later get 12_login from the Vids script pack)
Login Name
Password
Game letter
OK
OK

Now Back to Swath :

Press ON the LiteBulb & Parse incoming text and Game Proxy Mode.
Now CONNECT on Swath ( Making sure you see [Registered to #XXX] [Proxy] <-- This is now visible)
You are Not Online Yet!

Now lets go Online :
Double click green ball (TWX in Tool Bar) and connect for real.

Once in game
Check your CN Settings .. type CN and check options
1 - ON , 2 - off , 3 - off , 4 - anything other then 0 , 5 - on
6 - Yes , 7 - No , 9 - SPACE , A - Compact , B - No , C - Off

or Run _vid_startup found in the Vids script pack

Then its a matter of making macro's and ready your system for launching scripts.
In Swath Preferences / Scripts / Page 2
make sure TWX Proxy settings Script directory is pointing to your TWX scripts.
and at Top of Swath , the Tab marked Scripts / Script Tools / Reload All Scripts.

Thats about it.
At this point you are now using TWX with your Swath.

Script Sources :
http://www.navhaz.com
http://www.tw2002.info/files/index.php

_________________
TWGS V2 Vids World on Guam Port 2002
Telnet://202.151.82.243:2002
Team Speak3 Servers for TradeWars @
Zoom's Team Speak Server
ts3server://vs26.tserverhq.com:7214 This is where I'm at.

Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Ka Pla
Image

Image
Image


Wed May 29, 2013 5:43 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2054
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: Local Connection
Jev Zhuco wrote:
Up to this point, I've been logging into my local game (which I keep rebanging with different settings and stuff) through the Tradewars Command Center (play button). I just installed SWATH (I wonder if it's possible for me to "register" it with swath.net nonexistent) so I could get a good look at the maps that are being generated. But I can't seem to connect to my server. My guess is that I need to connect to 192.168.0.2 on port 23... but that doesn't seem to work. Any ideas?

Stop the TWGS server then open the Configure through Server > Configuration and verify the port you're using. I do not recommend 23 as other programs tend to cause conflicts. It is best to just avoid it. Use the 2002, if still not connecting verify 2003 works for the admin port if not you have something else wrong. After you make any changes make sure and restart the Server.
Attachment:
TWGS_Config.JPG
TWGS_Config.JPG [ 70.67 KiB | Viewed 3487 times ]

_________________
T0yman
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Wed May 29, 2013 6:42 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 11:46 pm
Posts: 19
Unread post Re: Local Connection
Thanks, Toyman. That did the job. :)


Thu May 30, 2013 2:49 pm
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1868
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Local Connection
T0yman wrote:
I do not recommend 23 as other programs tend to cause conflicts. It is best to just avoid it. Use the 2002, if still not connecting verify 2003 works for the admin port if not you have something else wrong.

LogMeIn.com uses 2002, so I removed it from my TWGS :)
Tried to remap the port in the firewall first, but just couldn't get it to work :/

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Thu May 30, 2013 3:11 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Warrant Officer

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 7:36 am
Posts: 84
Location: United States
Unread post Re: Local Connection
as far as logme in goes U can reinstall it on a diff port I had the same prob at first and did that and it worked just fine on 2002 and 2003 just my 2 cents worth :)

tbarlow

_________________
tbarlow
WebSite http://www.cscnet1.net
TWGS telnet://cscnet1.net:2002
TeamSpeak Servers
cscnet1.com:2500
eacentral.com:9987
eacentral.com:2409


Mon Jun 17, 2013 5:35 pm
Profile
Warrant Officer

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 7:36 am
Posts: 84
Location: United States
Unread post Re: Local Connection
now as far as me setting up SWATH and TWX I seem to be having a prob getting them both to work together I used the info here to set it up but there not working together for some reson any thoughts? thx

tbarlow

_________________
tbarlow
WebSite http://www.cscnet1.net
TWGS telnet://cscnet1.net:2002
TeamSpeak Servers
cscnet1.com:2500
eacentral.com:9987
eacentral.com:2409


Mon Jun 17, 2013 5:37 pm
Profile
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2054
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: Local Connection
Not a lot of info to go on. But I am guessing there is an issue with port 23. Change the listening port on TWX to something else.... 223..233 or something that is not normally used by other programs. Then set Swath to 127.0.0.1:(new port) and see if it connects then.

_________________
T0yman
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Mon Jun 17, 2013 6:08 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Warrant Officer

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 7:36 am
Posts: 84
Location: United States
Unread post Re: Local Connection
T0yman wrote:
Not a lot of info to go on. But I am guessing there is an issue with port 23. Change the listening port on TWX to something else.... 223..233 or something that is not normally used by other programs. Then set Swath to 127.0.0.1:(new port) and see if it connects then.


as far as the server goes its working fine my prob is the SWATH and TWX Proxy to connect together not sure what im doing worng Swath connects to the server but its like Swath and TWX don't connect I don't think it don't look like it is :(

tbarlow

_________________
tbarlow
WebSite http://www.cscnet1.net
TWGS telnet://cscnet1.net:2002
TeamSpeak Servers
cscnet1.com:2500
eacentral.com:9987
eacentral.com:2409


Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:00 pm
Profile
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2054
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: Local Connection
tbarlow wrote:
T0yman wrote:
Not a lot of info to go on. But I am guessing there is an issue with port 23. Change the listening port on TWX to something else.... 223..233 or something that is not normally used by other programs. Then set Swath to 127.0.0.1:(new port) and see if it connects then.


as far as the server goes its working fine my prob is the SWATH and TWX Proxy to connect together not sure what im doing worng Swath connects to the server but its like Swath and TWX don't connect I don't think it don't look like it is :(

tbarlow

The post from earlier is referencing the connection between TWX and SWATH.
Open the TWX setup, then goto the Program Tab and change the "Listen for connections on port" to 293. Then open swath and set it to 127.0.0.1 Port 293 it will connection between the two. Set TWX to connect to a sever and you should be up and running.
You can pick any number in place of 293 but make sure it is not a port that is currently in use. If the connection is successful you will see the following line:
"Press $ to activate terminal menu"

_________________
T0yman
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:14 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.