View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Mar 26, 2017 10:15 am



Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 TWGS v2.16 BUG? 
Author Message
Veteran Op

Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:40 pm
Posts: 23
Unread post TWGS v2.16 BUG?
I tried to install v2.16 over v2.15 and now I can not get the service to install. Before I installed v2.16 I stopped the service and uninstalled it. Then I installed v2.16 and now I receive an error when trying to install the service.

Error is, "Unable to install/uninstall Game\BLNKSERV.EXE as a service


Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:14 pm
Profile
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2001 2:00 am
Posts: 419
Location: Denver Colorado
Unread post Re: TWGS v2.16 BUG?
That's the second complaint I have heard about the service. I use it pretty heavily in that mode. Maybe I'll wait till it's resolved before upgrading. I really want to get the speed fix installed though so I hope he's quick about it.

_________________
twarbase.com:23


Fri Dec 30, 2011 9:54 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Immortal Op

Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 9:04 am
Posts: 143
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Unread post Re: TWGS v2.16 BUG?
mtdew wrote:
I tried to install v2.16 over v2.15 and now I can not get the service to install. Before I installed v2.16 I stopped the service and uninstalled it. Then I installed v2.16 and now I receive an error when trying to install the service.

Error is, "Unable to install/uninstall Game\BLNKSERV.EXE as a service


Check to see if the old version is still running as a service before you install.
Start up "service's" and scroll thru the list be sure its disabled, if it is not disable it manually. Then try to install.

_________________
Stoneslinger
http://theswampbbs.net
telnet://theswampbbs.net


Mon Jan 02, 2012 5:18 pm
Profile WWW
Veteran Op

Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:40 pm
Posts: 23
Unread post Re: TWGS v2.16 BUG?
Services tab does not show any TWGS services.... :(


Mon Jan 02, 2012 10:36 pm
Profile
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2053
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: TWGS v2.16 BUG?
I have never ran it as a service, I always just set mine to start in the startup if it reboots. To stop the service seems like to much work to me.

_________________
T0yman
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Mon Jan 02, 2012 11:11 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1792
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: TWGS v2.16 BUG?
This is a new bug in 2.16 ONLY.

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS1.03/TW3.13: telnet://twgs.twfm.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Mon Jan 02, 2012 11:31 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Veteran Op

Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:40 pm
Posts: 23
Unread post Re: TWGS v2.16 BUG?
Hey!!! I actually found a bug!!!! :)

What do I win? :) :lol:


Mon Jan 02, 2012 11:44 pm
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:57 am
Posts: 3365
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Unread post Re: TWGS v2.16 BUG?
Here's a screencap of the error

TWGSSERV Command Line Help:

Syntax: TWGSSERV [COMMAND]

Run TWGSSERV with the following commands

INSTALL - Install TWGS to run as a service
UNINSTALL - Uninstall TWGS service
START - Start running TWGS as a service (if installed)
STOP - Stop currently running TWGS service
RESET - Force TWGS to its normal non-service state

Enter a command or press ENTER to exit

TWGS is not installed as a service.

TWGSSERV> install


Unable to install/uninstall Game\BLNKSERV.EXE as a service


H

_________________
Helix
Do I really look like a guy with a plan? You know what I am? I'm a dog chasing cars.
Getting (re)started in TradeWars? Time to update the package, its been 3 years.
Lest we forget


Tue Jan 03, 2012 1:42 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: TWGS v2.16 BUG?
Thanks, guys. I'll get this bug fixed right away. I'm writing a new module for the game and I accidentally left it in the service installer.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Tue Jan 03, 2012 5:07 pm
Profile WWW
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2001 2:00 am
Posts: 419
Location: Denver Colorado
Unread post Re: TWGS v2.16 BUG?
Please.... I don't like having to stay logged into my server.

_________________
twarbase.com:23


Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:08 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: TWGS v2.16 BUG?
Sorry, MB. I just wanted to wait to see if any other bugs show up so I don't have to send out too many small updates. It's coming soon.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:16 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: TWGS v2.16 BUG?
Since I'm having a hard time getting a new version out, there is a hack that will fix this. I'm going to post a fixed TWGSSERV.EXE on the website so you can just drop that in.

http://wiki.classictw.com/filearchive/apps/twgsserv.exe

Let me know if that works.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Tue Jan 10, 2012 6:42 pm
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:57 am
Posts: 3365
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Unread post Re: TWGS v2.16 BUG?
John Pritchett wrote:
Since I'm having a hard time getting a new version out, there is a hack that will fix this. I'm going to post a fixed TWGSSERV.EXE on the website so you can just drop that in.

http://wiki.classictw.com/filearchive/apps/twgsserv.exe

Let me know if that works.


That worked for me.

H

_________________
Helix
Do I really look like a guy with a plan? You know what I am? I'm a dog chasing cars.
Getting (re)started in TradeWars? Time to update the package, its been 3 years.
Lest we forget


Tue Jan 10, 2012 11:11 pm
Profile WWW
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2001 2:00 am
Posts: 419
Location: Denver Colorado
Unread post Re: TWGS v2.16 BUG?
Yuppers!

_________________
twarbase.com:23


Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:23 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Gameop

Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 241
Location: Daytona Beach, Florida
Unread post Re: TWGS v2.16 BUG?
Worked for me too..

_________________
-=Darkstarbase TWGS=-
http://www.darkstarbase.com
telnet://darkstarbase.no-ip.org:23
Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/darkstarbase


Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:55 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.