View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:42 pm



Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Update Bug 
Author Message
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 3:00 am
Posts: 1044
Location: USA
Unread post Update Bug
Version 2.18B
Win7 64Bit
Client=Swath Alone
MBBS/ISP OFF/20k/Aliens and Gold = TRUE

-Server Log appended to bottom

Dropped to game prompt on personal server while pressing V and waiting for the game client to finish the information display.

Code:
Command [TL=00:00:00]:[13245] (?=Help)? : D
<Re-Display>

Sector  : 13245 in uncharted space.
Ports   : Absarokite Annex, Class 2 (BSB)
Planets : (M) ds
Warps to Sector(s) :  (7489) - (13638) - (15864) - (18673)

Command [TL=00:00:00]:[13245] (?=Help)? : V

         Trade Wars 2002 Game Configuration and Status

Initial Turns per day 65000, fighters 2500, credits 99,999, holds 75.
Inactive players will be deleted after 30 days.
Maximum players 200, sectors 20000, ports 16000, planets 4000.
The Maximum number of Planets per sector: 5,  Traders on a Corp: 5,
                Ships per FedSpace Sector: 5.

         The StarDock is located in sector 2618.
         Photon Missile Wave duration is 20 seconds.
         Ver# 3.32b MBBS Gold running under TWGS v2.
         This game is registered to Dark Dominion.

         This game has been running for 11 days.


TradeWars Game Server                                     Copyright (C) EIS
TWGS v2.18b                                               www.eisonline.com

Server registered to Dark Dominion
Supports up to 25 games and 100 nodes

<A> Test

<#> Players Online
<!> View game descriptions

<Q> Quit

Selection (? for menu):


Code:

TWGame log initialized 01/31/2012 10:01:24 PM
10:01:35 PM 01/31/2012 FE9FD8F0 fu(1): New Player on Trade Wars
Under the assumed name of fu
10:01:54 PM 01/31/2012 FE9FD8F0 lks(2): New Player on Trade Wars
Under the assumed name of lks
10:02:12 PM 01/31/2012 lks(2): Abnormal exit - Lock Violation(0)
10:05:39 PM 01/31/2012 FE9FD8F0 lks(2): Ran Tradewars 2002.
10:05:58 PM 01/31/2012 lks(2): Abnormal exit - Lock Violation(0)
10:06:13 PM 01/31/2012 FE9FD8F0 lks(2): Ran Tradewars 2002.

_________________
Dark Dominion TWGS
Telnet://twgs.darkworlds.org:23
ICQ#31380757, -=English 101 pwns me=-
"This one claims to have been playing since 1993 and didn't know upgrading a port would raise his alignment."


Wed Feb 01, 2012 1:29 am
Profile ICQ
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Update Bug
Is this repeatable? Does it happen even if you reset the server? What about if you reboot the system? I'm curious if the file lock is left from another game or alien server that crashed, or if something about this game data is causing this to happen. I don't get a crash like this when I display V screen on my test games.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Wed Feb 01, 2012 1:54 am
Profile WWW
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 3:00 am
Posts: 1044
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Update Bug
John Pritchett wrote:
Is this repeatable? Does it happen even if you reset the server? What about if you reboot the system? I'm curious if the file lock is left from another game or alien server that crashed, or if something about this game data is causing this to happen. I don't get a crash like this when I display V screen on my test games.


As of right now no, however it was a fresh install into a new directory as I've never hosted the TWGS on this box. Not sure if that helps but it seems wierd that both the display issue with V and this happened on a new install.

I've noticed significant lag across all versions when the game updates the Figs in "V" is it possible that whatever code is the back-end for that can time out and drop the player? You'll notice in the above cap that it dropped before displaying Fighter total's.

In the past with games I've noticed a serious delay on that part of the engine when updating those totals. Significant enough that I thought I had dropped in the past and mashed that enter button (like that would change anything).

_________________
Dark Dominion TWGS
Telnet://twgs.darkworlds.org:23
ICQ#31380757, -=English 101 pwns me=-
"This one claims to have been playing since 1993 and didn't know upgrading a port would raise his alignment."


Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:46 am
Profile ICQ
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Update Bug
It takes awhile to pull all of the totals, especially for large games. That's why it's only updated once per hour.

It won't timeout unless there's a file locked.

I'm wondering if you didn't have a TW2002.EXE or NONPSERV.EXE left running after you shut down TWGS for an update. That's not supposed to happen, but it would explain some of the problems you are seeing. If these executables are getting stranded in the task list, I need to figure out why. I had that cleaned up so that these always shut down when TWGS closes.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Thu Feb 02, 2012 11:52 am
Profile WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2054
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: Update Bug
John Pritchett wrote:
Is this repeatable? Does it happen even if you reset the server? What about if you reboot the system? I'm curious if the file lock is left from another game or alien server that crashed, or if something about this game data is causing this to happen. I don't get a crash like this when I display V screen on my test games.

John goto Ice9-tw.com 2002

Select a game, I tried I and W and hit S <enter> or * <enter> it will kick you to the game menu everytime.

_________________
T0yman
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Fri Feb 03, 2012 1:36 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Update Bug
I'll get V'Ger to send me his data so I can isolate the cause.

Thanks for the heads-up.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Fri Feb 03, 2012 1:52 pm
Profile WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2054
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: Update Bug
I just retested and it appears to only be Game "W". Game I was acting like it earlier but further testing it works now.

Game W also kicks you out if you hit "V".

_________________
T0yman
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:10 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Update Bug
Ok, thanks for the clafification. Do you recall what version he's running?

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:14 pm
Profile WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2054
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: Update Bug
He just updated to 2.18b last night.

_________________
T0yman
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:16 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Boo! inc.
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2002 2:00 am
Posts: 29
Location: earth
Unread post Re: Update Bug
Happening to me in ICE9 game W as well, "www.ice9-tw.com:2002".
TWGS v2.18b
Ver# 3.32b MBBS Gold

Last thing I see in the "*" listing before it hangs is always the "Max Times Blown Up". Next line would normally be "[Dynamic]".

Also in this same game, possibly related issue, I got hung for a few seconds and then booted after attempting a holo scan in sector 1:

Code:
Long Range Scan
Select (H)olo Scan or (D)ensity Scan or (Q)uit? [D] H
One turn deducted, 3698 turns left.

Sector  : 2 in The Federation.
Beacon  : FedSpace, FedLaw Enforced
Aliens  :


There is no space after "Aliens :"; I got booted at this point.
Upon re-entering game right away and trying holo again, it completed normally and this was sector 2:

Code:
Sector  : 2 in The Federation.
Beacon  : FedSpace, FedLaw Enforced
Aliens  : Nuisance 1st Class Tita Baavas, w/ 89 ftrs,
           in Icuad Jixurith (Murene Scout Marauder)
          Nuisance 2nd Class Thitha Vuaquch, w/ 206 ftrs,
           in Eweoh Juhumosh (AldenShrike Missile Frigate)

_________________
Are you suggesting coconuts migrate?!


Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:19 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Update Bug
He's sending me his data tonight, so I should be able to pinpoint the cause. I'll keep you posted.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:35 pm
Profile WWW
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 3:00 am
Posts: 1044
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Update Bug
Any updates John? Ice-9 is suffering from this bug across most if not all his games.

_________________
Dark Dominion TWGS
Telnet://twgs.darkworlds.org:23
ICQ#31380757, -=English 101 pwns me=-
"This one claims to have been playing since 1993 and didn't know upgrading a port would raise his alignment."


Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:25 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Update Bug
I just got the data tonight. When I loaded it into the latest version, I was not able to find any issues. I'm going to load it into the current release to see if I can duplicate the problem.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:40 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Update Bug
How's Ice9 running right now? I've talked to V'ger and I have permission to install a pre-release v2.19, but if the game is running smoothly again, I'd like to hold off while it gets some testing on a few other sites.

The crashes were caused by a locked file, but it's hard to know if it was one isolated lock that, once cleared, is no longer an issue, or if it's a bug that's causing a file to be repeated left in a locked state. I haven't had a report of this from any other sites (over 100 running 2.18 so far).

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:38 am
Profile WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2054
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: Update Bug
It is still happening in W, I talked to veeg last night about it.

_________________
T0yman
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Sun Feb 12, 2012 5:17 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.