View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Apr 07, 2020 4:11 am



Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 OK..is this a bug/progam glitch... 
Author Message
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1419
Location: USA
Unread post OK..is this a bug/progam glitch...
Classic Ferrengi : No
Max Regen per Visit : 100%
Invincible Ferrengal: Yes

OK..is this a bug/program glitch...From what I under stood that means the planet can not be ZDY'd or collide right...or am I wrong

Planets Ferrengal and . collided!

_________________
Image
Image
Founding Member of: Flying Ace's


Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:30 am
Profile ICQ
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2059
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: OK..is this a bug/progam glitch...
Someone make a fake Ferrengal? I know we have done it in the past. Or did you go to that sector and check? Just wondering since the TL bug still seems to be in effect I can not currently log in and check.

_________________
T0yman (Permanently Retired since 2012)
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Thu Dec 02, 2010 7:19 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: OK..is this a bug/progam glitch...
You can collide an invincible planet, have been able to for years.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Thu Dec 02, 2010 7:37 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Veteran Op

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 4:04 pm
Posts: 5025
Unread post Re: OK..is this a bug/progam glitch...
I don't play alien games much, and I know you can't zdy a gold alien planet, but I'm not sure about collision. Sing is more than likely correct, I just haven't tested it to be positive.


Thu Dec 02, 2010 7:42 am
Profile
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1419
Location: USA
Unread post Re: OK..is this a bug/progam glitch...
Singularity wrote:
You can collide an invincible planet, have been able to for years.


NEWS to me... I have played multiple games and had alien planet in a sec where planets set to max 5 with 3 alien planets in the sec and 5 planet I made = 8 total planet in the same sec and it didn't show as over load.

Yes if I have 6 or more in any sec in that same game that I made it would show as over load and some times get a collation

_________________
Image
Image
Founding Member of: Flying Ace's


Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:13 am
Profile ICQ
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1722
Location: USA
Unread post Re: OK..is this a bug/progam glitch...
Gold Alien planets don't overload a sector or they didn't but may have been changed in beta.
They collide only if the other planets in sector make it unstable by themselves.....unless it was changed.

No idea how an internal alien planet works.

_________________
Coconut Telegraph (ICQ)#586137616
Team Speak3@ 220.244.125.70:9987
Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Winner of Gridwars 2010 - Ka Pla
Image
Jesus wounldn't Subspace Crawl


Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:46 am
Profile ICQ YIM
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: OK..is this a bug/progam glitch...
Back, think it was 2006 (maybe early 2007), I was in
a subzero that we had mopped up.

One of my corpies was moving planets around before
extern, I was afk since the game was done. I was on
ferrengal (gold aliens, not internal). I came back to a
pod having had the planet collide. Planet was supposed
to be set to invincible, I couldn't zdy it.

It does happen. Not sure why, or under what conditions,
but it does happen.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:19 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: OK..is this a bug/progam glitch...
The "invincible ferrengal" actually only applies to internal Ferrengi. I should clarify that in the setting since that's ambiguous.

Gold alien homeworlds can never be destroyed by CBY (at least that's the intended behavior).

There is no test of invincibility for collisions. Gold alien homeworlds are not counted toward planets to determine if a collision occurs, and they are excluded from the list of planets that can be destroyed if a collision occurs. So if Gold alien planets are being destroyed in collisions, that's a bug. And if it is a bug, the question is, should it become standard behavior or should it be fixed?

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:34 am
Profile WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1722
Location: USA
Unread post Re: OK..is this a bug/progam glitch...
only IF the NON Gold alien planets form an overload by themselves.

MAxplanet = 3

4 regular planet + 2 gold alien planets

Game sees the 4 and processes the overload based on 4 planets

Collisions are processed using ALL planets in sector.


Try it. You will see. Kewl had one collide last night at Ice9

As for being a Bug? Seems to me your going around the intended balance of MAx planets verus Max Corpies with this behavior and it unbalances the game in favor of those first online that grab weak alien planets. SubZero in particular.

_________________
Coconut Telegraph (ICQ)#586137616
Team Speak3@ 220.244.125.70:9987
Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Winner of Gridwars 2010 - Ka Pla
Image
Jesus wounldn't Subspace Crawl


Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:37 am
Profile ICQ YIM
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2059
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: OK..is this a bug/progam glitch...
John Pritchett wrote:
The "invincible ferrengal" actually only applies to internal Ferrengi. I should clarify that in the setting since that's ambiguous.

Gold alien homeworlds can never be destroyed by CBY (at least that's the intended behavior).


ZDY ;)

John Pritchett wrote:
There is no test of invincibility for collisions. Gold alien homeworlds are not counted toward planets to determine if a collision occurs, and they are excluded from the list of planets that can be destroyed if a collision occurs. So if Gold alien planets are being destroyed in collisions, that's a bug. And if it is a bug, the question is, should it become standard behavior or should it be fixed?


If the game setting is 5 per sector and you place a Gold Planet then you should assume the risk of it being destroyed during a collision.

_________________
T0yman (Permanently Retired since 2012)
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:09 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: OK..is this a bug/progam glitch...
Parrothead wrote:
only IF the NON Gold alien planets form an overload by themselves.
MAxplanet = 3
4 regular planet + 2 gold alien planets
Game sees the 4 and processes the overload based on 4 planets
Collisions are processed using ALL planets in sector.


That would be consistent with my observations as well.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:18 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2059
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: OK..is this a bug/progam glitch...
Singularity wrote:
Parrothead wrote:
only IF the NON Gold alien planets form an overload by themselves.
MAxplanet = 3
4 regular planet + 2 gold alien planets
Game sees the 4 and processes the overload based on 4 planets
Collisions are processed using ALL planets in sector.


That would be consistent with my observations as well.


Just a question. So your in a game that has 9 alien planets and you cap them all you would allow all 9 to be in the sector with no risk of being collided? Even though the game setup says 3? I don't think that sounds right but whatever is decided is fine, game settings are there and set for a reason. You place 9 in a sector you assume the risk of a collision. 2 cents ;)

_________________
T0yman (Permanently Retired since 2012)
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:34 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: OK..is this a bug/progam glitch...
T0yman wrote:
Just a question. So your in a game that has 9 alien planets and you cap them all you would allow all 9 to be in the sector with no risk of being collided? Even though the game setup says 3? I don't think that sounds right but whatever is decided is fine, game settings are there and set for a reason. You place 9 in a sector you assume the risk of a collision. 2 cents ;)


Couple things...

1. Yes if you accidentally overload your own sector you
deserve what you get. In my case it was a new player
that was moving cols around and forgot to move stuff
back, combined with my inattention to a finished game,
that lead to my particular outcome. Que sara.

2. I'm 99% sure I've also collided an enemy ferg too,
using the old photon in, pop planets, xport out method.
It's remarkably easy to do. You don't need 9 alien planets
to do this. I don't think I've ever been in a game with 9
alien planets before.

3. I don't have a problem with ferg being treated as a
planet for collisions. It is, after all, a planet... so why
should it be immune to collisions? I think for the AI's
sake, while the planet is still owned by aliens, it prolly
shouldn't collide. But once owned by a player, fair game.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:21 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2059
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: OK..is this a bug/progam glitch...
T0yman wrote:
Just a question. So your in a game that has 9 alien planets and you cap them all you would allow all 9 to be in the sector with no risk of being collided? Even though the game setup says 3? I don't think that sounds right but whatever is decided is fine, game settings are there and set for a reason. You place 9 in a sector you assume the risk of a collision. 2 cents ;)


Singularity wrote:
Couple things...

1. Yes if you accidentally overload your own sector you
deserve what you get. In my case it was a new player
that was moving cols around and forgot to move stuff
back, combined with my inattention to a finished game,
that lead to my particular outcome. Que sara.

2. I'm 99% sure I've also collided an enemy ferg too,
using the old photon in, pop planets, xport out method.
It's remarkably easy to do. You don't need 9 alien planets
to do this. I don't think I've ever been in a game with 9
alien planets before.

3. I don't have a problem with ferg being treated as a
planet for collisions. It is, after all, a planet... so why
should it be immune to collisions? I think for the AI's
sake, while the planet is still owned by aliens, it prolly
shouldn't collide. But once owned by a player, fair game.


Yea I can agree with those, Alien Retribution has either 7 or 9 I forget ;) But I had to use a number and 9 was just random choice.

_________________
T0yman (Permanently Retired since 2012)
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:48 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 2:00 am
Posts: 1800
Location: Outer Rims
Unread post Re: OK..is this a bug/progam glitch...
T0yman wrote:

Yea I can agree with those, Alien Retribution has either 7 or 9 I forget ;) But I had to use a number and 9 was just random choice.


The original created edit had 8 Alien races, 8 Alien planets.

_________________
-Thrawn

But risk has always been an inescapable part of warfare.

--

Knight to Queen's Bishop 3


Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:06 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.