View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 23, 2017 1:18 pm



Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Feedback Loop: v2.17 
Author Message
Lieutenant Commander
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 3:00 am
Posts: 776
Location: Iowa
Unread post Feedback Loop: v2.17
Not sure where else to post my little story, so fresh topic.

I jumped into the practice game on RP's server, did a little
cashing and ended up parked on StarDock for the night.

I was dropped to the twgs game menu without any warning
about inactivity or whatever. I wasn't logged all the way off,
so my relogger never got me back on dock. Extern came and
I was towed. Very grim for us StarDock squatting game trolls.

I checked with RP and he said his Interactive SubPrompts are
turned on. Is there another setting that suppresses the
InActivity Warning?

My worries are two:
1) No warnings means I need to run a separated keepalive,
not a hard fix.
2) I sat at the TWGS game menu all night, shouldn't I have
'timed out' and been logged off?

Not worthy of being mentioned as a worry is the fact that I
was dropped past the game entry prompt to the main game
menu.

Just checking if this is expected behavior, as I've squatted on
the StarDock prompt for months at a time in the past...

_________________
#+++
The early bird may get the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
#---


Tue Jan 31, 2012 7:01 am
Profile ICQ YIM
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2053
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: Feedback Loop: v2.17
I had the same thing happen in v1.03 if stuck at the Game Menu.

==-- Trade Wars 2002 --==

T - Play Trade Wars 2002
I - Introduction & Help
S - View Game Settings
H - High scores
M - View Access Modes
X - Exit

Enter your choice: <-- been stuck there a few times in both versions.

_________________
T0yman
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Tue Jan 31, 2012 7:19 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 1792
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Feedback Loop: v2.17
Version 2.x should timeout at this prompt, unless you are sending keepalives.

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS1.03/TW3.13: telnet://twgs.twfm.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

"The goal is to turn data into information, and information into insight.”


Tue Jan 31, 2012 7:22 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Boo! inc.
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 2:00 am
Posts: 840
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Feedback Loop: v2.17
This is a mombot error. Im assuming you are using mombot, and RP prolly upgraded while you were in game. Then you disconnected and it doesn't get past game menu correct?

_________________
“The object of war is not to die for your corp but to make the other bastard die for his.”

Boo! inc.


Tue Jan 31, 2012 7:45 am
Profile
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 3:00 am
Posts: 1044
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Feedback Loop: v2.17
Crosby wrote:
Not sure where else to post my little story, so fresh topic.

I jumped into the practice game on RP's server, did a little
cashing and ended up parked on StarDock for the night.

I was dropped to the twgs game menu without any warning
about inactivity or whatever. I wasn't logged all the way off,
so my relogger never got me back on dock. Extern came and
I was towed. Very grim for us StarDock squatting game trolls.

I checked with RP and he said his Interactive SubPrompts are
turned on. Is there another setting that suppresses the
InActivity Warning?

My worries are two:
1) No warnings means I need to run a separated keepalive,
not a hard fix.
2) I sat at the TWGS game menu all night, shouldn't I have
'timed out' and been logged off?

Not worthy of being mentioned as a worry is the fact that I
was dropped past the game entry prompt to the main game
menu.

Just checking if this is expected behavior, as I've squatted on
the StarDock prompt for months at a time in the past...


I think their right about the error being from the client and not the server. However like you I only experience it on certain servers, generally when they take the server/game offline for maintenance. The client doesn't handle the disconnection correctly and doesn't reconnect. This happens on both server maintenance and game maintenance, differences is where you'll end up landing, server prompt vs disconnected.

Best you can do is write something to check for data when afk and if not present reconnect. It's not a Mombot "error" it's a error with being able to handle the event since it previously was not as large of a issue because games/servers did not require as many reboot's/rebang's. And if they did the server was brought down with warning so Mombot was able to handle the shutdown.

posting.php?mode=quote&f=45&p=233765

_________________
Dark Dominion TWGS
Telnet://twgs.darkworlds.org:23
ICQ#31380757, -=English 101 pwns me=-
"This one claims to have been playing since 1993 and didn't know upgrading a port would raise his alignment."


Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:36 am
Profile ICQ
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Feedback Loop: v2.17
I'll check with RP to see if there's an error in the logs. Had you timed out due to inactivity, not only would you have gotten the messages, you would have dropped all the way out of the game, not just to the startup menu. So something else booted you out. The only way that could happen would be a game crash, which should have been logged.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Tue Jan 31, 2012 10:22 am
Profile WWW
Commander

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1701
Location: Guam USA
Unread post Re: Feedback Loop: v2.17
I posted this to J.P. ' Questions for Bug Reports'

1) What OS you have ? (Win 7 problematic)
2) What version of TWX Proxy you use ? (2.05 problematic)
3) What helper you use ?
4) Where you using Swath ? Light bulb on ?
5) Were you using a Bot ? Which one(s) ?
6) What scripts (background and other) were you running ?
7) Describe in detail as best as possible what was noticed or happening.

I have found that the disconnect without notice is a TWX 2.05 thing.
Also many scripts over the years have a comms on/off and that may get in
the way of maybe game messages as well.

I hope this helps in the up coming bug discussions.

_________________
TWGS V2 Vids World on Guam Port 2002
Telnet://202.151.82.243:2002
Team Speak3 Servers for TradeWars @
Zoom's Team Speak Server
ts3server://vs26.tserverhq.com:7214 This is where I'm at.
Micro's Team Speak Server
ts3server://ts.microblaster.net
Archys Portal Teamspeak Server
ts3server://60.242.57.40

Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Ka Pla
Image

Image
Image


Tue Jan 31, 2012 10:49 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Feedback Loop: v2.17
I agree with Vid that there may be some strange things happening as a result of the client. But the one thing about this that strikes me is that Crosby dropped from the Stardock menu directly to the startup menu, and that shouldn't be possible. So I'll explore that clue and see if I can find a bug.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:03 am
Profile WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2053
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: Feedback Loop: v2.17
I know this has nothing to do with the current topic but it may shed some light. I been working with Stein to find an issue on the map. If you have an extensive fig listing in the several thousands it appears data is not making to through TWX correctly. So the visual map is not updating showing your entire grid. If you remove TWX and hook in to the game directly and run a figs listing it works perfecting everytime.

There maybe a few bugs in TWX that need to be looked at in the way it is passing data, I know this only happens on the final 2.05 released. Previous version I never had issue with.

_________________
T0yman
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:07 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Feedback Loop: v2.17
Seems like we discussed something like this awhile ago, and the conclusion was that the client wasn't properly handling a full receive buffer. If it doesn't detect that condition and wait to receive new data until the buffer has been partially emptied, you end up losing chunks of data. And that would happen with very long, fast displays like fig output, but would usually not show up under normal conditions.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:33 am
Profile WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2053
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: Feedback Loop: v2.17
John Pritchett wrote:
Seems like we discussed something like this awhile ago, and the conclusion was that the client wasn't properly handling a full receive buffer. If it doesn't detect that condition and wait to receive new data until the buffer has been partially emptied, you end up losing chunks of data. And that would happen with very long, fast displays like fig output, but would usually not show up under normal conditions.

Yea I need to forward this to EP and see if he time to look into it. TWX still has the data since all scripts work fine, just not passing it out correctly.

_________________
T0yman
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:36 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Feedback Loop: v2.17
Ok, I have not been able to dupllicate any condition in which the game will restart after a crash. So something more subtle must be going on there. I need to look at the error logs for RPs game before I can go any further with this.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:06 pm
Profile WWW
Lieutenant Commander
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 3:00 am
Posts: 776
Location: Iowa
Unread post Re: Feedback Loop: v2.17
Shouldn't I have gotten a few messages?
Inactivity warning?

If naught else, how about kicking me off.. and then I'd
get a Connection Lost message and Mom woulda logged
me back in...

_________________
#+++
The early bird may get the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
#---


Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:15 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Feedback Loop: v2.17
Under all normal and expected circumstances, you'd have gotten messages or gotten booted all the way out. That's what makes this so odd. I'm still waiting for access to the logs.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Tue Jan 31, 2012 3:02 pm
Profile WWW
Boo! inc.
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 2:00 am
Posts: 840
Location: USA
Unread post Re: Feedback Loop: v2.17
RP said he will get them to you when he gets home.

_________________
“The object of war is not to die for your corp but to make the other bastard die for his.”

Boo! inc.


Tue Jan 31, 2012 3:08 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.